Suggestions needed for modelling wealth in a growth model in vensim

Use this forum to discuss any issues relating to Systems Dynamics and Systems Thinking.
swati
Vensim version: PLE

Suggestions needed for modelling wealth in a growth model in vensim

Post by swati »

Dear users,
I am modelling an economic growth model in vensim ple on windows 8. I have a variable called population that has been classified into childhood, young age, middle age and old age using an aging chain.Corresponding to population, I have another variable called total aggregate wealth that has been modelled as a coflow. So, i have young wealth (total savings of young people), middle wealth (total savings of middle aged people) and old wealth. Young and middle aged people have same propensity to save and old people dissave i.e. they consume off their wealth. Thus,Old wealth is total savings of people that they have done during their young and middle age.I am new to system dynamics and I am not very sure that i am formulating my total wealth correctly.Can someone please check whether my formulation?
Attachments
aggregate wealth and population.mdl
(9.06 KiB) Downloaded 336 times
swati

Re: Suggestions needed for modelling wealth in a growth model in vensim

Post by swati »

One specific point that I think that I am doing wrong is that variable old age is not included anywhere when i am modeling total wealth as coflow.But i am not very clear how it can be included??
LAUJJL
Vensim version: DSS

Post by LAUJJL »

Hi Swati

Your coflow has some problems.

The young age and middle age savings look correct.

But the transfers are not.

Suppose that there is a strong epidemy during a semester and half of the middle age people die
, the people ageing after the semester will drop sharply and the transfers from middle to old too, which does not happen in your model.