Bug Report: Slider appears in DSS but not in Model Reader for subscripted GET DIRECT CONSTANTS variables

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
Post Reply
jrissman
Senior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 6:04 pm
Vensim version: DSS

Bug Report: Slider appears in DSS but not in Model Reader for subscripted GET DIRECT CONSTANTS variables

Post by jrissman » Tue Oct 22, 2019 11:15 pm

Hello Ventana team,

I have a bug to report today. In SyntheSim mode, variables that use the GET DIRECT CONSTANTS statement are supposed to show a slider below them, so their values can be adjusted interactively.

In DSS this works fine. However, in Model Reader, the slider only appears for GET DIRECT CONSTANTS variables that are not subscripted. Subscripted ones lack the slider.

To reproduce the issue, you can download v2.0.0 of the U.S. Energy Policy Simulator here: https://us.energypolicy.solutions/eps-a ... 0.0-us.zip

Open EPS.vpm either in DSS or in Model Reader. Search for the variable "VTStFES Vehicle Technologies Subject to Fuel Economy Standard"

Enter SyntheSim mode. If in DSS, you'll see that this variable has a slider:
DSS.PNG
DSS.PNG (3.07 KiB) Viewed 97 times

If in Model Reader, you'll see it lacks a slider:
ModelReader.PNG
ModelReader.PNG (2.87 KiB) Viewed 97 times

You can compare that variable to the pink variable above it in the model, "EoFoNVFE Effect of Feebate on New Veh Fuel Economy." That variable has a slider in both DSS and Model Reader because it's not subscripted.

Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 3367
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: Bug Report: Slider appears in DSS but not in Model Reader for subscripted GET DIRECT CONSTANTS variables

Post by Administrator » Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:44 pm

I've just uploaded 8.0.5, this bug should be fixed in it.

To make the sliders appear, run the simulation once using Model->Simulate, and under the changes tab, make sure you tick "Overwrite get...constants" equations. The sliders should now appear ok.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559

RobbieOrvis
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:16 pm
Vensim version: DSS

Re: Bug Report: Slider appears in DSS but not in Model Reader for subscripted GET DIRECT CONSTANTS variables

Post by RobbieOrvis » Fri Nov 08, 2019 6:11 pm

Hi there,

I'm still having this issue in Model Reader (using 8.0.6).

When I click "Simulate" there is no "Changes" tab that appears.

The "Changes" tab only appears when I run "SyntheSim" mode.

Once in SyntheSim, the only options in the "Changes" tab are "Read Additional Changes from File" and "Write Changes Made to .cin File"

-Robbie

Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 3367
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: Bug Report: Slider appears in DSS but not in Model Reader for subscripted GET DIRECT CONSTANTS variables

Post by Administrator » Mon Nov 11, 2019 9:30 am

Did you re-publish the model after ticking the "Overwrite get...constants" in DSS?
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559

Post Reply