Vensim PLE MAC v8 unstable on student machine.

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
Post Reply
eliotrich
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 4:14 pm
Vensim version: DSS

Vensim PLE MAC v8 unstable on student machine.

Post by eliotrich »

Hello.

I'm fielding a student problem, after his installing last week:

"I am really struggling with the VenSIM 8 program on Mac. The program keeps shutting down and SOMETIMES it will save my data, and at other times it will not and completely omit all of the graphs and charts."

It's intermittent, so we have no screen shots. Models are small and work fine on PC.

Any suggestions? Is V7 more stable?

regards,

Eliot

Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 3624
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: Vensim PLE MAC v8 unstable on student machine.

Post by Administrator »

What is the exact version they are using? 8.0.9 is available now which has many bug fixes.

Also, what are they doing when it crashes? Is it a certain model? If yes, can you upload it so we can try and recreate the crash? If we can recreate it, we can fix it and possibly provide a workaround.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559

tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 3049
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: Vensim PLE MAC v8 unstable on student machine.

Post by tomfid »

Also might help to know the OS version and anything unusual about the machine.

eliotrich
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 4:14 pm
Vensim version: DSS

Re: Vensim PLE MAC v8 unstable on student machine.

Post by eliotrich »

Hi.

8.0.9 PLE
MacOD Cataline 10.15.3
MacBook Pro 15", 2017
16Gb

Problems occur from vensim start,
Attachments
kaibab.mdl
(12.09 KiB) Downloaded 48 times

daler6
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 3:19 am
Vensim version: PLE

Re: Vensim PLE MAC v8 unstable on student machine.

Post by daler6 »

I and my students are also having similar issues. I am personally running 8.0.9 PLE on a MacBook Pro using the latest version of Catalina. The crashes happen in a number of models and at various times. Hard to see any real pattern yet.

One other quirk. When I am using my machine with additional screens, e.g. a wall projector, the main window will sometimes just disappear. It looks a bit like it has run off to another screen somewhere and the software doesn't really crash. To get the window back, i just click on the Vensim icon in my Dock. Sometimes it does this several times in a row when I am trying to select a variable to modify when I am using SyntheSim or SimSetup. It is almost like a game of cat and mouse.

Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 3624
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: Vensim PLE MAC v8 unstable on student machine.

Post by Administrator »

daler6 wrote:
Fri Feb 14, 2020 1:47 am
One other quirk. When I am using my machine with additional screens, e.g. a wall projector, the main window will sometimes just disappear. It looks a bit like it has run off to another screen somewhere and the software doesn't really crash. To get the window back, i just click on the Vensim icon in my Dock. Sometimes it does this several times in a row when I am trying to select a variable to modify when I am using SyntheSim or SimSetup. It is almost like a game of cat and mouse.
Does this help?
https://www.technipages.com/macos-bring ... nto-screen
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559

Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 3624
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: Vensim PLE MAC v8 unstable on student machine.

Post by Administrator »

eliotrich wrote:
Fri Feb 14, 2020 12:34 am
Hi.

8.0.9 PLE
MacOD Cataline 10.15.3
MacBook Pro 15", 2017
16Gb

Problems occur from vensim start,
I've just tried this on a Mac (not Catalina, I cannot really "upgrade" as I would not be able to run older versions of Vensim). A general session of running the model, using the tools etc, I had no issues.

Is there something that reliably causes a crash?
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559

eliotrich
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 4:14 pm
Vensim version: DSS

Re: Vensim PLE MAC v8 unstable on student machine.

Post by eliotrich »

Nothing reliable, sorry.

Roderick
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:23 pm

Re: Vensim PLE MAC v8 unstable on student machine.

Post by Roderick »

I use Vensim all the time to develop models for clients. I use a Mac, but run the Windows version of Vensim. I do this with Crossover for the Mac by Codeweavers. Vensim runs fund and the Corssover software is not too expensive, does not require Windows, and does not take up any space. You can find Crossover here:

https://www.codeweavers.com/products/crossover-mac

daler6
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 3:19 am
Vensim version: PLE

Re: Vensim PLE MAC v8 unstable on student machine.

Post by daler6 »

Roderick,

I was wondering if you be able to provide me with some assistance. I was able to download and install version 8.0.9 of VenSim Pro under Crossover version 19.0.1, but when I try to run the software, I receive the message “There is no Windows program configured to open this type of file.” DO you have any thoughts?

Sincerely, Dale

daler6
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 3:19 am
Vensim version: PLE

Re: Vensim PLE MAC v8 unstable on student machine.

Post by daler6 »

p.s. I am running Mac OS Catalina v 10.15.4

Post Reply