64 bit beta release

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
Post Reply
tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 3804
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

64 bit beta release

Post by tomfid »

This thread is for issues pertaining to the current 64 bit beta DSS release (currently Windows only). The 64 bit release permits running huge models that address more than 2GB of memory, and 64 bit dlls/shared libraries can be called directly from 64 bit processes.

First, some notes:

The existing .vmf model format is not supported in 6.2; use .mdl format to transfer existing models to the x64 version. (This includes published models in .vpm format - embed an mdl, not a vmf.) You can save a model as a binary .vmf64, though there's no compelling reason to do so in general (and see bugs, below).

The Mac & Linux are not currently supported (but close).

The .vdf dataset format is supported, but read-only. So, you can run a model that uses .vdf-format input datasets, but when you run a model, you get a .vdf64 file. Both formats can be loaded for display via the Control Panel.

All math in the x64 release is double precision. The .vdf64 file format has not been upgraded to double precision, but will be.

All binary file formats are still subject to change.

The code is non-optimized, so it may run more slowly than the 32 bit versions.

Known issues:

The File->Open and Save dialogs aren't fully aware of the .vmf64 format. In particular, using the Save As dialog, the "type" dropdown menu is not working, and spurious errors may occur when opening .vmf64 models (this can be avoided by manually stripping off the file extension, but the preferred workaround is to use .mdl for the moment).
gwr
Senior Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:40 pm
Vensim version: DSS

Trouble using the 64Bit DLL

Post by gwr »

Hello,

I greatly appreciate the availability of a 64Bit version of Vensim. Unfortunately I am running afoul linking the 64-Bit DLL ("vendll64.dll") to Mathematica which worked fine with the 32-Bit DLLs (Single and Double Precision). The documentation has not been adapted with regard to the Vensim DSS Supplement so I would like to know where things have changed that might explain why things are not working out.

First issue: The 64Bit DLL is not found

For the layman it is weird to note that the 32Bit versions of Vensim's DLL are in fact NOT installed in the Windows\System32\ directory (this is said to be the case in the Installation Notes in Chapter 11 of the Vensim DSS Supplement). Instead they are to be found in the Windows\SysWOW64\ directory which is usually included in the systems' PATH variable so that it will be found without having to give a directory. The 64Bit DLL surprisingly is the only DLL that is installed in the actual Windows\System32\ directory. I suggest to maybe change the documentation accordingly?

It seems that Windows\System32\ is not per se included in the system's PATH - at least I am not receiving any error with regard to finding the DLL once I include the full path in the DLL-definition.

Second issue: BadImageFormatException on a simple function call

The NETLink - framework of Mathematica returns this error: "NET::netexcptn: A .NET exception occurred: System.BadImageFormatException" when I call the simple test DLL function vensim_check_status defined as follows:

Code: Select all

$vensimDLL = FileNameJoin[{"C:", "Windows", "System32", "vendll64.dll"}]
vensimCheckStatus = DefineDLLFunction["vensim_check_status", $vensimDLL, "int", {}]
The type declarations for the parameters can be given in C format (eg. "int") and this seems the only place where maybe things have changed with regard to the documentation.

Any ideas what might run afoul here?

Best regards,
Guido

PS: Needless to say that the above like implementation works perfectly smooth for the 32Bit DLLs as documented earlier on this forum.
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by Administrator »

Are you running x64 version of Mathematica?
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
gwr
Senior Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:40 pm
Vensim version: DSS

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by gwr »

Yes, I am using x64 Mathematica, and accordingly sofar with the 32BIT Vensim DLLs I had to use:

Code: Select all

ReinstallNET["Force32Bit"->True]
for it to work - which it did nicely.
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by Administrator »

The error "NET::netexcptn: A .NET exception occurred: System.BadImageFormatException" suggests it's 32 bit trying to load 64 (or the other way around).

I'll raise it as a bug. Not much I can suggest though as I do not have Mathematica.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
gwr
Senior Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:40 pm
Vensim version: DSS

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by gwr »

Thank you, that is helpful, so I will not have to ponder "double" vs. "int" issues probably.

The issue with the false format (loading 64Bit from 32Bit or vice versa) should pertain to .NET and thus might be reproduced from other 64Bit applications?

Anyhow it is good to find this looked at more closely and - at least to me - 64Bit and "double all the way" do matter.

Best,
Guido
shankar2017
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 6:50 am
Vensim version: PLE

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by shankar2017 »

Hello,

Is there a Windows/64 bit version of PLE - freedownload version ?
The 32 bit version does not install on the 64bit PC/Windows.
Thank you
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by Administrator »

shankar2017 wrote:Is there a Windows/64 bit version of PLE - freedownload version ?
No.
shankar2017 wrote:The 32 bit version does not install on the 64bit PC/Windows.
Yes it does, what errors are you getting?
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
vorobichek
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:12 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by vorobichek »

Dear Administrator,

I'm working on Vensim DSS 6.0b 32bits and I would like to move on 64bits, but our IT support hesitates (for some realese there is mention : "This should be considered a beta version"). Is it always the case? Which version of Vensim has 64bits no-beta release?

Thank you in advance for your answers.
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by Administrator »

We are still working on Vensim x64. It's nearly finished, just some final cross platform checks that we need to complete before we can release it.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 3804
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by tomfid »

Do you really need the extra capacity of x64? We're seeing very little demand for it.
LAUJJL
Senior Member
Posts: 1421
Joined: Fri May 23, 2003 10:09 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by LAUJJL »

Hi Tom

I would like a 64 bits version at the condition that it is not bugged, has the same features and runs as quickly as the 32 bits version.

For some runs i am obliged to build a save list or reduce the save period, Something that is meanwhile cumbersome but manageable.

Something that is probably experienced by many users even if they do not complain.

Regards.

JJ
vorobichek
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:12 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by vorobichek »

tomfid wrote:Do you really need the extra capacity of x64? We're seeing very little demand for it.
Yes. We have a very large model and for some simulation 2.5G of RAM is not sufficient (the limit of x32 is 3.24G RAM minus RAM necessary for OS). Currently, we use same approach as LAUJJ.
tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 3804
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by tomfid »

OK. Should be available soon.
jacksnape
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 5:19 pm
Vensim version: DSS

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by jacksnape »

Hi all

I am in the process of setting up Vensim DSS (64 bit) on a Windows 10 laptop to run a model that has been built for my company by consultants.

I need to be able to compile the model, so am trying to set up a C++ compiler within the mdl.bat, MDLDP.bat and MDLDP64.bat files.

I have installed Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0 via Community 2017, and the compiler files are stored in this path, which I have pointed the mdl .bat files to:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\VC\Vcvarsall.bat

I also have installed SDK version 10.0, which I have pointed the mdl .bat files to:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v10.0A\bin

After all this, I am getting the error:
"Failed to compile to model (unknown dll load problem)."

This particular error doesn't seem to have been mentioned anywhere on the forum before. Ventana are unable to help any further as I'm using the 64 bit version. We need to use the 64 bit version as the model is very memory-hungry.

Should I try an older version of Microsoft Visual Studio?

Many thanks in advance for any help!

All the best

Jack Snape :)
tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 3804
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by tomfid »

If you comment out the "echo off" at the top of mdldp64.bat, there might be some additional output that would help with debugging this.
jacksnape
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 5:19 pm
Vensim version: DSS

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by jacksnape »

Thanks for the tip

The last message I can see in the command line window is:

"Creating library Nelum Scenarios V5_simdp.lib and object Nelum Scenarios V5_simdp.exp
Nelum Scenarios V5_simdp.exp : warning LNK4070: /OUT:SIM.dll directive in .EXP differs from output filename 'Nelum Scenarios V5_simdp.dll'; ignoring directive"

Any ideas?

Thanks for your help
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by Administrator »

I've emailed a file to you that should get compilation working again.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
joostallard
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 3:41 am
Vensim version: PLE

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by joostallard »

Is there a x64 bit release for Mac OS yet?
I am currently evaluating creation of CLDs with the free Vensim PLE version, and notice behavior and positioning of UI elements that prevents me from being able to actually use the application.

Thanks
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by Administrator »

No, there is no 64 bit version yet. And a 64 bit version will not change the graphics either.

Can you share what issues you are having with the graphics?
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
RWTH_FCN
Senior Member
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:10 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by RWTH_FCN »

Hi,
I have licence of DSS version(32 bit). How can I increase it to 64 bit?
Best Regards
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: 64 bit beta release

Post by Administrator »

Email us with your licence details.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Post Reply