64 bit beta release
64 bit beta release
This thread is for issues pertaining to the current 64 bit beta DSS release (currently Windows only). The 64 bit release permits running huge models that address more than 2GB of memory, and 64 bit dlls/shared libraries can be called directly from 64 bit processes.
First, some notes:
The existing .vmf model format is not supported in 6.2; use .mdl format to transfer existing models to the x64 version. (This includes published models in .vpm format - embed an mdl, not a vmf.) You can save a model as a binary .vmf64, though there's no compelling reason to do so in general (and see bugs, below).
The Mac & Linux are not currently supported (but close).
The .vdf dataset format is supported, but read-only. So, you can run a model that uses .vdf-format input datasets, but when you run a model, you get a .vdf64 file. Both formats can be loaded for display via the Control Panel.
All math in the x64 release is double precision. The .vdf64 file format has not been upgraded to double precision, but will be.
All binary file formats are still subject to change.
The code is non-optimized, so it may run more slowly than the 32 bit versions.
Known issues:
The File->Open and Save dialogs aren't fully aware of the .vmf64 format. In particular, using the Save As dialog, the "type" dropdown menu is not working, and spurious errors may occur when opening .vmf64 models (this can be avoided by manually stripping off the file extension, but the preferred workaround is to use .mdl for the moment).
First, some notes:
The existing .vmf model format is not supported in 6.2; use .mdl format to transfer existing models to the x64 version. (This includes published models in .vpm format - embed an mdl, not a vmf.) You can save a model as a binary .vmf64, though there's no compelling reason to do so in general (and see bugs, below).
The Mac & Linux are not currently supported (but close).
The .vdf dataset format is supported, but read-only. So, you can run a model that uses .vdf-format input datasets, but when you run a model, you get a .vdf64 file. Both formats can be loaded for display via the Control Panel.
All math in the x64 release is double precision. The .vdf64 file format has not been upgraded to double precision, but will be.
All binary file formats are still subject to change.
The code is non-optimized, so it may run more slowly than the 32 bit versions.
Known issues:
The File->Open and Save dialogs aren't fully aware of the .vmf64 format. In particular, using the Save As dialog, the "type" dropdown menu is not working, and spurious errors may occur when opening .vmf64 models (this can be avoided by manually stripping off the file extension, but the preferred workaround is to use .mdl for the moment).
/*
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics
*/
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics
*/
Trouble using the 64Bit DLL
Hello,
I greatly appreciate the availability of a 64Bit version of Vensim. Unfortunately I am running afoul linking the 64-Bit DLL ("vendll64.dll") to Mathematica which worked fine with the 32-Bit DLLs (Single and Double Precision). The documentation has not been adapted with regard to the Vensim DSS Supplement so I would like to know where things have changed that might explain why things are not working out.
First issue: The 64Bit DLL is not found
For the layman it is weird to note that the 32Bit versions of Vensim's DLL are in fact NOT installed in the Windows\System32\ directory (this is said to be the case in the Installation Notes in Chapter 11 of the Vensim DSS Supplement). Instead they are to be found in the Windows\SysWOW64\ directory which is usually included in the systems' PATH variable so that it will be found without having to give a directory. The 64Bit DLL surprisingly is the only DLL that is installed in the actual Windows\System32\ directory. I suggest to maybe change the documentation accordingly?
It seems that Windows\System32\ is not per se included in the system's PATH - at least I am not receiving any error with regard to finding the DLL once I include the full path in the DLL-definition.
Second issue: BadImageFormatException on a simple function call
The NETLink - framework of Mathematica returns this error: "NET::netexcptn: A .NET exception occurred: System.BadImageFormatException" when I call the simple test DLL function vensim_check_status defined as follows:
The type declarations for the parameters can be given in C format (eg. "int") and this seems the only place where maybe things have changed with regard to the documentation.
Any ideas what might run afoul here?
Best regards,
Guido
PS: Needless to say that the above like implementation works perfectly smooth for the 32Bit DLLs as documented earlier on this forum.
I greatly appreciate the availability of a 64Bit version of Vensim. Unfortunately I am running afoul linking the 64-Bit DLL ("vendll64.dll") to Mathematica which worked fine with the 32-Bit DLLs (Single and Double Precision). The documentation has not been adapted with regard to the Vensim DSS Supplement so I would like to know where things have changed that might explain why things are not working out.
First issue: The 64Bit DLL is not found
For the layman it is weird to note that the 32Bit versions of Vensim's DLL are in fact NOT installed in the Windows\System32\ directory (this is said to be the case in the Installation Notes in Chapter 11 of the Vensim DSS Supplement). Instead they are to be found in the Windows\SysWOW64\ directory which is usually included in the systems' PATH variable so that it will be found without having to give a directory. The 64Bit DLL surprisingly is the only DLL that is installed in the actual Windows\System32\ directory. I suggest to maybe change the documentation accordingly?
It seems that Windows\System32\ is not per se included in the system's PATH - at least I am not receiving any error with regard to finding the DLL once I include the full path in the DLL-definition.
Second issue: BadImageFormatException on a simple function call
The NETLink - framework of Mathematica returns this error: "NET::netexcptn: A .NET exception occurred: System.BadImageFormatException" when I call the simple test DLL function vensim_check_status defined as follows:
Code: Select all
$vensimDLL = FileNameJoin[{"C:", "Windows", "System32", "vendll64.dll"}]
vensimCheckStatus = DefineDLLFunction["vensim_check_status", $vensimDLL, "int", {}]
Any ideas what might run afoul here?
Best regards,
Guido
PS: Needless to say that the above like implementation works perfectly smooth for the 32Bit DLLs as documented earlier on this forum.
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4751
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: 64 bit beta release
Are you running x64 version of Mathematica?
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: 64 bit beta release
Yes, I am using x64 Mathematica, and accordingly sofar with the 32BIT Vensim DLLs I had to use:
for it to work - which it did nicely.
Code: Select all
ReinstallNET["Force32Bit"->True]
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4751
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: 64 bit beta release
The error "NET::netexcptn: A .NET exception occurred: System.BadImageFormatException" suggests it's 32 bit trying to load 64 (or the other way around).
I'll raise it as a bug. Not much I can suggest though as I do not have Mathematica.
I'll raise it as a bug. Not much I can suggest though as I do not have Mathematica.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: 64 bit beta release
Thank you, that is helpful, so I will not have to ponder "double" vs. "int" issues probably.
The issue with the false format (loading 64Bit from 32Bit or vice versa) should pertain to .NET and thus might be reproduced from other 64Bit applications?
Anyhow it is good to find this looked at more closely and - at least to me - 64Bit and "double all the way" do matter.
Best,
Guido
The issue with the false format (loading 64Bit from 32Bit or vice versa) should pertain to .NET and thus might be reproduced from other 64Bit applications?
Anyhow it is good to find this looked at more closely and - at least to me - 64Bit and "double all the way" do matter.
Best,
Guido
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 6:50 am
- Vensim version: PLE
Re: 64 bit beta release
Hello,
Is there a Windows/64 bit version of PLE - freedownload version ?
The 32 bit version does not install on the 64bit PC/Windows.
Thank you
Is there a Windows/64 bit version of PLE - freedownload version ?
The 32 bit version does not install on the 64bit PC/Windows.
Thank you
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4751
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: 64 bit beta release
No.shankar2017 wrote:Is there a Windows/64 bit version of PLE - freedownload version ?
Yes it does, what errors are you getting?shankar2017 wrote:The 32 bit version does not install on the 64bit PC/Windows.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
-
- Junior Member
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:12 am
- Vensim version: DSS
Re: 64 bit beta release
Dear Administrator,
I'm working on Vensim DSS 6.0b 32bits and I would like to move on 64bits, but our IT support hesitates (for some realese there is mention : "This should be considered a beta version"). Is it always the case? Which version of Vensim has 64bits no-beta release?
Thank you in advance for your answers.
I'm working on Vensim DSS 6.0b 32bits and I would like to move on 64bits, but our IT support hesitates (for some realese there is mention : "This should be considered a beta version"). Is it always the case? Which version of Vensim has 64bits no-beta release?
Thank you in advance for your answers.
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4751
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: 64 bit beta release
We are still working on Vensim x64. It's nearly finished, just some final cross platform checks that we need to complete before we can release it.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: 64 bit beta release
Do you really need the extra capacity of x64? We're seeing very little demand for it.
/*
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics
*/
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics
*/
Re: 64 bit beta release
Hi Tom
I would like a 64 bits version at the condition that it is not bugged, has the same features and runs as quickly as the 32 bits version.
For some runs i am obliged to build a save list or reduce the save period, Something that is meanwhile cumbersome but manageable.
Something that is probably experienced by many users even if they do not complain.
Regards.
JJ
I would like a 64 bits version at the condition that it is not bugged, has the same features and runs as quickly as the 32 bits version.
For some runs i am obliged to build a save list or reduce the save period, Something that is meanwhile cumbersome but manageable.
Something that is probably experienced by many users even if they do not complain.
Regards.
JJ
-
- Junior Member
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:12 am
- Vensim version: DSS
Re: 64 bit beta release
Yes. We have a very large model and for some simulation 2.5G of RAM is not sufficient (the limit of x32 is 3.24G RAM minus RAM necessary for OS). Currently, we use same approach as LAUJJ.tomfid wrote:Do you really need the extra capacity of x64? We're seeing very little demand for it.
Re: 64 bit beta release
OK. Should be available soon.
/*
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics
*/
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics
*/
Re: 64 bit beta release
Hi all
I am in the process of setting up Vensim DSS (64 bit) on a Windows 10 laptop to run a model that has been built for my company by consultants.
I need to be able to compile the model, so am trying to set up a C++ compiler within the mdl.bat, MDLDP.bat and MDLDP64.bat files.
I have installed Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0 via Community 2017, and the compiler files are stored in this path, which I have pointed the mdl .bat files to:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\VC\Vcvarsall.bat
I also have installed SDK version 10.0, which I have pointed the mdl .bat files to:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v10.0A\bin
After all this, I am getting the error:
"Failed to compile to model (unknown dll load problem)."
This particular error doesn't seem to have been mentioned anywhere on the forum before. Ventana are unable to help any further as I'm using the 64 bit version. We need to use the 64 bit version as the model is very memory-hungry.
Should I try an older version of Microsoft Visual Studio?
Many thanks in advance for any help!
All the best
Jack Snape
I am in the process of setting up Vensim DSS (64 bit) on a Windows 10 laptop to run a model that has been built for my company by consultants.
I need to be able to compile the model, so am trying to set up a C++ compiler within the mdl.bat, MDLDP.bat and MDLDP64.bat files.
I have installed Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0 via Community 2017, and the compiler files are stored in this path, which I have pointed the mdl .bat files to:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\VC\Vcvarsall.bat
I also have installed SDK version 10.0, which I have pointed the mdl .bat files to:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v10.0A\bin
After all this, I am getting the error:
"Failed to compile to model (unknown dll load problem)."
This particular error doesn't seem to have been mentioned anywhere on the forum before. Ventana are unable to help any further as I'm using the 64 bit version. We need to use the 64 bit version as the model is very memory-hungry.
Should I try an older version of Microsoft Visual Studio?
Many thanks in advance for any help!
All the best
Jack Snape

Re: 64 bit beta release
If you comment out the "echo off" at the top of mdldp64.bat, there might be some additional output that would help with debugging this.
/*
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics
*/
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics
*/
Re: 64 bit beta release
Thanks for the tip
The last message I can see in the command line window is:
"Creating library Nelum Scenarios V5_simdp.lib and object Nelum Scenarios V5_simdp.exp
Nelum Scenarios V5_simdp.exp : warning LNK4070: /OUT:SIM.dll directive in .EXP differs from output filename 'Nelum Scenarios V5_simdp.dll'; ignoring directive"
Any ideas?
Thanks for your help
The last message I can see in the command line window is:
"Creating library Nelum Scenarios V5_simdp.lib and object Nelum Scenarios V5_simdp.exp
Nelum Scenarios V5_simdp.exp : warning LNK4070: /OUT:SIM.dll directive in .EXP differs from output filename 'Nelum Scenarios V5_simdp.dll'; ignoring directive"
Any ideas?
Thanks for your help
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4751
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: 64 bit beta release
I've emailed a file to you that should get compilation working again.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 3:41 am
- Vensim version: PLE
Re: 64 bit beta release
Is there a x64 bit release for Mac OS yet?
I am currently evaluating creation of CLDs with the free Vensim PLE version, and notice behavior and positioning of UI elements that prevents me from being able to actually use the application.
Thanks
I am currently evaluating creation of CLDs with the free Vensim PLE version, and notice behavior and positioning of UI elements that prevents me from being able to actually use the application.
Thanks
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4751
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: 64 bit beta release
No, there is no 64 bit version yet. And a 64 bit version will not change the graphics either.
Can you share what issues you are having with the graphics?
Can you share what issues you are having with the graphics?
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: 64 bit beta release
Hi,
I have licence of DSS version(32 bit). How can I increase it to 64 bit?
Best Regards
I have licence of DSS version(32 bit). How can I increase it to 64 bit?
Best Regards
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4751
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: 64 bit beta release
Email us with your licence details.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559