Problems to find the right model structure - rates, level

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
Christian Haun
Vensim version: PLE

Problems to find the right model structure - rates, level

Post by Christian Haun »

Dear community,
I am a complete beginner in using Vensim PLE.
I tried to build a foodweb model consisting of the following parts and still have some problems.
Constants: intake rates, Q/B (Consumption/Biomass), P/B (Production/Biomass) for the 3 species Whiting, Sandeel and Bass
“Easy calculated” Auxiliaries: intake
Other Auxiliaries: Q and P for the 3 species
Q is the total consumption of every species minus the needed consumption divided
by Q/B. Therefore it should reduce the Biomass when the total consumption is smaller than the needed consumption and increase the Biomass when this value is positive.
P is the production and easily the result of P/B * Biomass of the species
Level: By now the Biomass is written as a level function. It should start with the initial value and then vary depending on Q and P. But should always be bigger than 0. I`m not sure if I should cancel the dependency on P.