Inputting Times series Data for flow rate into a stock

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
Post Reply
oosman1
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:13 pm
Vensim version: PLE

Inputting Times series Data for flow rate into a stock

Post by oosman1 »

Hi there ,

I am trying to input a time series data to dictate the behavior of a flow into a stock. I need the "Get Time Value" function to make this work, however given I am using PLE, this is not an option. How do you advise I go about this? I have attached the relevant time series and my model. I am trying to feed the time series into the "rate of battery charging" flow.

Thank you.

Regards,

Ola Osman
Attachments
Time series.xlsx
(670.53 KiB) Downloaded 180 times
RE NH3 Production.mdl
(5.97 KiB) Downloaded 209 times
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4589
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: Inputting Times series Data for flow rate into a stock

Post by Administrator »

Use

Code: Select all

PV output = PV Profile ( time )
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
oosman1
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:13 pm
Vensim version: PLE

Re: Inputting Times series Data for flow rate into a stock

Post by oosman1 »

Hi there,

Thank you for your response. For the time, should I add that as another variable feeding into "PV Output"? And if so, how do i set it up so that this varies with simulation time?

Thank you.

Ola
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4589
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: Inputting Times series Data for flow rate into a stock

Post by Administrator »

"Time" is already a protected variable in Vensim, it's the simulation time.

Add a new shadow variable to your view and select "time". Then you can draw the arrow you need.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
oosman1
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:13 pm
Vensim version: PLE

Re: Inputting Times series Data for flow rate into a stock

Post by oosman1 »

Hi there,

Thank you for that. One more follow up question please. I am trying to get the PV output to repeat every 24 hours. I tried using the PULSE TRAIN function as per the attachment but I could not get it to work. Can you please advise?

Thank you.

Regards,

Ola
Attachments
Final RE NH3 Production.mdl
(8.82 KiB) Downloaded 197 times
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4589
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: Inputting Times series Data for flow rate into a stock

Post by Administrator »

Create a new variable

Code: Select all

hour of day = modulo ( Time , 24)
And then use this instead of "time" in the call to the lookup

Code: Select all

PV output = PV Profile (hour of day)
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 3808
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: Inputting Times series Data for flow rate into a stock

Post by tomfid »

... and you should really make the 24 a parameter with units,

hours per day == 24 ~ hours or hours/day (depending on use)
Post Reply