continue during year

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
Post Reply
yusuke
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 11:41 pm

continue during year

Post by yusuke »

Hello

I am making factory operation model.
Time Step :day
for several years
threeyears:(Y1-Y3) # subscript
startoperation[threeyears] =300,644,998

Factory manager decide of start day to operate in “startoperation” which has subscript “threeyears”
The “startoperation ” day is fixed during this year.

I hope,first year from time 1 to 365 set “startoperation[Y1]”.
But next year will change to “startoperation[Y2]” .

How to convert “startoperation[threeyears]” to dailybasis, like

Time 1,2, ,,,,,,,,365,366,367,,,,731,732,733,,,
STARRTOPERATION 300,300,,,,300,640,640,,,,640,998,998,,,

Please Support me
Attachments
day2year.mdl
(1.42 KiB) Downloaded 195 times
tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 3811
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: continue during year

Post by tomfid »

Not sure I understand the question.

Should the parameter represent the day of the year, and therefore have a range (1,365), or should it be the day from day 0, with range 1 ... n years*365?

Should the output be one value, or three values (one for each subscript element)?

Should the output be a step function or an impulse? i.e. 0 0 0 1 1 1 1 1 or 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0?
yusuke
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 11:41 pm

Re: continue during year

Post by yusuke »

Dear Tom

Thank you for reply.

Yes, I want to step data(signal) continue during one year.
I want to set step time (for example time=200) but it will turn to 0 in 365( finish of year).
And next year I want to set another start time. it will turn to 0 in 730(365*2).

I want to set these operation start time usign variable.
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4590
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: continue during year

Post by Administrator »

I'm not sure what you are trying to do. From your description here, maybe the MODULO function is what you need?

days in a year = 365
Day of year = modulo (time, days in a year)
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
yusuke
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 11:41 pm

Re: continue during year

Post by yusuke »

Thank you for your comment.
I am not so good at English . Sorry bad explain.

I am considering factory operation model.

1)Material to use in factory will be decrease or increase by year using simulation.
2)Factory capacity is fixed to use material( ton/day).
3)factory manager want to finish operation until April end(want to close).
4) I think Vensim is ”Procedural programming”, so I should set start of operation day by trial and error.
5) So I want to include “startoperation" variable in model. Because, it will make it easy to change in "simulation set up".

I think this purpose is possible using Excel as time series data from 365*year with signal(o or 1).
If possible i want to simulate using only vensim.

best regard.
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4590
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: continue during year

Post by Administrator »

Can you use

days in a year = 365
Day of year = modulo (time, days in a year)

startoperation = if then else ( Day of year = 0 , 1, 0 )
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 3811
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: continue during year

Post by tomfid »

OK ... it sounds like you want a repeating step that is 0 at the start of the year, switches to 1 at some point during the year, then resets to 0 and starts over. Something like this:
day2year.mdl
(3.67 KiB) Downloaded 244 times
Post Reply