Bootstrap error

A place for Ventity software questions & answers
Phill
Senior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 2:18 pm
Vensim version: DSS
Location: St-Gingolph, Switzerland

Bootstrap error

Postby Phill » Mon Mar 13, 2017 2:04 pm

On trying to launch Ventity this morning I received the attached error. I can't get past that error message; it appears as soon as I click the Ventity icon, so I'm a bit stuck and I'd appreciate any help! I've come across the 'input string was not in a correct format' error before, but only in the context of web code, not an installed program.
Attachments
Bootstrap.PNG
Bootstrap.PNG (4.28 KiB) Viewed 836 times

tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 1954
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am
Location: Montana, USA
Contact:

Re: Bootstrap error

Postby tomfid » Mon Mar 13, 2017 5:02 pm

Are you running the latest version (1.0.1)?
/*
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4391

Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics

*/

Phill
Senior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 2:18 pm
Vensim version: DSS
Location: St-Gingolph, Switzerland

Re: Bootstrap error

Postby Phill » Mon Mar 13, 2017 9:23 pm

I think so; it's release date is 31st January.

Phill
Senior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 2:18 pm
Vensim version: DSS
Location: St-Gingolph, Switzerland

Re: Bootstrap error

Postby Phill » Tue Mar 14, 2017 11:36 am

You were right, thank you. I didn't realise I wasn't running the latest version, but downloading that and installing it cured my problem.

tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 1954
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am
Location: Montana, USA
Contact:

Re: Bootstrap error

Postby tomfid » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:18 pm

Great. 1.0.0 had that problem on some machines. We can't figure out what causes it, but fortunately we found a way to avoid it in 1.0.1. The releases were very close together, so it would have been easy to miss.
/*
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4391

Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics

*/

gsimpso4
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 9:37 am
Vensim version: Ventity

Re: Bootstrap error

Postby gsimpso4 » Fri Mar 17, 2017 10:45 am

I am having similar issues, corrupting work with no way to recover.

I find that when I download from the update page at http://ventity.biz/update/
I get a version dated 30 Jan 2017. The splash screen says I have version 1.0, although the zip file was labelled 1.01.

Is there another place I should be going?

I am running 64 bit on Windows Server 2008.

Will email my model files - see mail from GeorgeSimpson1@tfl.gov.uk

...george...

gsimpso4
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 9:37 am
Vensim version: Ventity

Re: Bootstrap error

Postby gsimpso4 » Fri Mar 17, 2017 2:37 pm

Finding stability as long as I don't import entities and then rename the entity type. Maybe that was the issue. Fingers crossed!

tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 1954
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am
Location: Montana, USA
Contact:

Re: Bootstrap error

Postby tomfid » Sat Mar 18, 2017 7:36 pm

Do you know what your exact sequence is? I can open a model, import an entitytype from another model, rename it to "Fred," save & close the model, then reopen successfully. I must be missing a step in there somewhere.
/*
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4391

Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics

*/

LarryYeager
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 12:43 am
Vensim version: Ventity

Re: Bootstrap error

Postby LarryYeager » Sun Mar 19, 2017 2:05 am

The problem was a rename that missed the on chart diagrams (the bug that allowed that may have already been fixed in the development copy). Fixed file attached.

Sorry about that!
Attachments
Model 9.zip
(14.88 KiB) Downloaded 11 times

Jeraldine Jent
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 4:06 pm
Vensim version: PLE

Re: Bootstrap error

Postby Jeraldine Jent » Wed Mar 22, 2017 4:19 pm

LarryYeager wrote:The problem was a rename that missed the on chart diagrams (the bug that allowed that may have already been fixed in the development copy). Fixed file attached.

Sorry about that!


I have the same problem, but it does not help. Are there other ways ?
Last edited by Jeraldine Jent on Fri Mar 24, 2017 4:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 1954
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am
Location: Montana, USA
Contact:

Re: Bootstrap error

Postby tomfid » Wed Mar 22, 2017 4:58 pm

Can you send us the file? We should be able to repair it. Post or email is fine. Version 1.0.2 (next few days) will fix this permanently.
/*
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4391

Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics

*/

Jeraldine Jent
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 4:06 pm
Vensim version: PLE

Re: Bootstrap error

Postby Jeraldine Jent » Fri Mar 24, 2017 4:55 pm

tomfid wrote:Can you send us the file? We should be able to repair it. Post or email is fine. Version 1.0.2 (next few days) will fix this permanently.


Thanks, but colleagues at work have already solved this problem :D


Return to “Ventity”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest