Import Vensim models as entities

A place for Ventity software questions & answers
paulvbaal
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 6:53 pm
Vensim version: PLE+

Import Vensim models as entities

Postby paulvbaal » Wed Apr 12, 2017 6:59 pm

Ventity and Vensim have a lot of common functionality and it would be great if it were possible to import Vensim models as entities in Ventity, or export entities as separate Vensim models! Is there any plan to implement such functionality in the future?

tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 2014
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am
Location: Montana, USA
Contact:

Re: Import Vensim models as entities

Postby tomfid » Wed Apr 12, 2017 7:39 pm

Definitely. We have a working prototype, but it's not ready for real use. The main challenge is dealing with detail - a Vensim model with arrays implies a certain entity structure, but discerning what to do at entity boundaries is complex. In many cases, it'll make sense to change the model architecture to take advantage of Ventity features. So, the most likely useful path will be to import model components as entities, rather than whole models.
/*
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4391

Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics

*/


Return to “Ventity”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest