Units (Millions and Billions)

A place for Ventity software questions & answers
Post Reply
atkamal
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2019 12:13 pm
Vensim version: Ventity

Units (Millions and Billions)

Post by atkamal » Wed Sep 25, 2019 10:42 am

Hi Ventity Team (Tom),

I am running some simulations and my results are in millions (M) and billions (B). I would like the exact numbers instead of these and I cannot find the fix in the unit settings.

Appreciate your help.

Regards,
Athar

tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 2772
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: Units (Millions and Billions)

Post by tomfid » Wed Sep 25, 2019 1:42 pm

Where do you need these numbers? (Charts, tables, data grid?)

If you copy-paste or export the values to Excel or csv, you'll get the raw numbers.

atkamal
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2019 12:13 pm
Vensim version: Ventity

Re: Units (Millions and Billions)

Post by atkamal » Wed Sep 25, 2019 3:06 pm

Hi Tom,

I want to copy the results of aggregate of vehicle stocks. While the ventity plotter shows the number, when i try to copy these numbers. Instead of the whole number, the M and B show up in excel. Moreover, i am not able to export the results to excel file (maybe i am doing the exporting wrong).

error1.JPG
error1.JPG (131.4 KiB) Viewed 285 times
error2.JPG
error2.JPG (57.09 KiB) Viewed 285 times

tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 2772
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: Units (Millions and Billions)

Post by tomfid » Wed Sep 25, 2019 6:34 pm

The M is definitely a bug - I've put in a ticket for it.

How did you generate the "path not of legal form" error? The export command is working for me.

tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 2772
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: Units (Millions and Billions)

Post by tomfid » Wed Sep 25, 2019 6:36 pm

Speculation: the path error has something to do with the location where you're saving the file.

atkamal
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2019 12:13 pm
Vensim version: Ventity

Re: Units (Millions and Billions)

Post by atkamal » Thu Sep 26, 2019 7:26 am

HI Tom,

I can save the complete results (for the whole run) from the Results tab in the entity picker into excel files.

However, if i go to data of an individual stock/variable/aggregate (like the table image above) and right click and do export to excel, it gives the error (in the second screenshot).

tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 2772
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: Units (Millions and Billions)

Post by tomfid » Thu Sep 26, 2019 1:43 pm

Thanks. Two requests:
- can you post a screenshot of the save dialog, showing the Excel filename to be used? (Email to us at info at ventity.biz if easier.)
- the text of the extended error message - this will be on the clipboard after you click OK on the "path is not of legal form" dialog.

atkamal
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2019 12:13 pm
Vensim version: Ventity

Re: Units (Millions and Billions)

Post by atkamal » Sat Sep 28, 2019 7:24 pm

Hi Tom,

I have sent the screenshots and error clipboard text file on the info@ventity email.

Please let me know if you (or the team) haven't received it.

tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 2772
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: Units (Millions and Billions)

Post by tomfid » Sat Sep 28, 2019 9:01 pm

Got it - thanks! I'll put in a ticket and we'll investigate.

Post Reply