Pausing Vensim

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
Post Reply
aksdax
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 6:31 am

Pausing Vensim

Post by aksdax »

Hi I have a model in vensim which needs to reach out to another external model to compute a value. The External model would be built in c++ so it can be accessed using the DLL. Can we pause the simulation till the external function computes the value and sends it back to the vensim model.
Flow of events
1 Run Vensim model
2 Pause it
3 call external model using DLL
4 Compute the data in the External Module
5 Return data to Vensim model
6 Resume vensim.

Is there a way to pause the simulation ?
(I am using Vensim DSS for windows 5.7a)

Thank you
Akshay D
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4592
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Post by Administrator »

Are you using Vensim to trigger the external module? If so, you just wait for it to finish.

If you are running the Vensim model using the DLL, you just call vensim_continue_simulation until you need to pause it, run the other module and then call vensim_continue_simulation again.

Hope this helps.

Tony.
bob@vensim.com
Senior Member
Posts: 1107
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 2:46 pm

Post by bob@vensim.com »

From your description you are simply trying to write an external function - see the associated chapter in the DSS reference supplement for details.
aksdax
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 6:31 am

Post by aksdax »

I did read the manual but it was bit unclear to me as i have never used Vensim before.
But your clarification would help :).

Thank you for your reply.
Akshay D.
Post Reply