unit conversion
unit conversion
Dear Concern
Hi!
I am totally apprentice of this software. Can anybody describe with example that how unit can be convert to other name? such as "kg" to "tonnes", "chicken" to "KG". What is the precondition to convert units based on certain variable.
waiting for kind response.
Hi!
I am totally apprentice of this software. Can anybody describe with example that how unit can be convert to other name? such as "kg" to "tonnes", "chicken" to "KG". What is the precondition to convert units based on certain variable.
waiting for kind response.
M Shamsuddoha
Curtin University, Australia
Curtin University, Australia
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4827
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: unit conversion
If you have a variable that is something like
"distance in inches" and you want to convert to mm, create a constant called "mm per inch" = 25.4.
Now in your model, you can have
distance in mm = distance in inches * mm per inch
The units are
mm = in * mm / in
Hope this helps.
Tony.
"distance in inches" and you want to convert to mm, create a constant called "mm per inch" = 25.4.
Now in your model, you can have
distance in mm = distance in inches * mm per inch
The units are
mm = in * mm / in
Hope this helps.
Tony.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: unit conversion
Dear Concern
Thanks for your link. Still I have doubt and I failed to apply in my model. I am working on poultry supply chain modelling. Briefly, initially "eggs" enter the system then convert it to "chicks" then convert into "chicken". after that chicken produces wastage which is in "Kilograms". Wastage diverted in three different things of fertilizer, fish feed and bio gas. "tonnes", "KGS" and "cubic metre" are the unit for them. Could you please help me out how I convert all these units based on objects. If you want, I can send you my model. I am not sure how can I attach my model here? Waiting for kind response.
Regards
Thanks for your link. Still I have doubt and I failed to apply in my model. I am working on poultry supply chain modelling. Briefly, initially "eggs" enter the system then convert it to "chicks" then convert into "chicken". after that chicken produces wastage which is in "Kilograms". Wastage diverted in three different things of fertilizer, fish feed and bio gas. "tonnes", "KGS" and "cubic metre" are the unit for them. Could you please help me out how I convert all these units based on objects. If you want, I can send you my model. I am not sure how can I attach my model here? Waiting for kind response.
Regards
M Shamsuddoha
Curtin University, Australia
Curtin University, Australia
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4827
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: unit conversion
To convert from egg to chick, create a variable
chicks per egg = 1 {units, chick/egg}
Then from chicks to chickens,
chickens per chick = 1 {units, chicken/chick}
Then chickens to wastage
wastage in kg {units : kg} = number of chickens {units : chickens} * wastage per chicken {units : kg/chicken}
Now from wastage to tonnes
wastage in tonnes {units : tonne} = wastage in kg {units : kg} * tonne per kg {units : tonne/kg}
wastage in m3 {units : m3} = wastage in kg {units : kg} * cubic metres per kg {units : m3/kg}
Hope this helps. Make sure you get the units correct, they really are a vital part of any model.
Tony.
PS. Feel free to post the model here (click the "Upload attachment" link).
chicks per egg = 1 {units, chick/egg}
Then from chicks to chickens,
chickens per chick = 1 {units, chicken/chick}
Then chickens to wastage
wastage in kg {units : kg} = number of chickens {units : chickens} * wastage per chicken {units : kg/chicken}
Now from wastage to tonnes
wastage in tonnes {units : tonne} = wastage in kg {units : kg} * tonne per kg {units : tonne/kg}
wastage in m3 {units : m3} = wastage in kg {units : kg} * cubic metres per kg {units : m3/kg}
Hope this helps. Make sure you get the units correct, they really are a vital part of any model.
Tony.
PS. Feel free to post the model here (click the "Upload attachment" link).
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: unit conversion
Thanks. I will try accordingly.
Could you please help me to find out "BEER GAME MODEl" in Vensim version? Where can I find it?
Could you please help me to find out "BEER GAME MODEl" in Vensim version? Where can I find it?
M Shamsuddoha
Curtin University, Australia
Curtin University, Australia
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4827
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: unit conversion
These might help.
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... =38&t=3026
http://www.beergame.lim.ethz.ch/
http://www.simcon.de/simcon-seminare/the-beer-game
http://web.mit.edu/jsterman/www/SDG/MFS/simplebeer.html
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... =38&t=3026
http://www.beergame.lim.ethz.ch/
http://www.simcon.de/simcon-seminare/the-beer-game
http://web.mit.edu/jsterman/www/SDG/MFS/simplebeer.html
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: unit conversion
Dear Sir
I have tried to convert the unit chicks into eggs but failed to do so. Here, I have attached a small model where I wanted to convert chicks to eggs but its giving me RHS errors. Would you mind to show the correct code in my model? appreciate your help. thanks
I have tried to convert the unit chicks into eggs but failed to do so. Here, I have attached a small model where I wanted to convert chicks to eggs but its giving me RHS errors. Would you mind to show the correct code in my model? appreciate your help. thanks
Administrator wrote:To convert from egg to chick, create a variable
chicks per egg = 1 {units, chick/egg}
Then from chicks to chickens,
chickens per chick = 1 {units, chicken/chick}
Then chickens to wastage
wastage in kg {units : kg} = number of chickens {units : chickens} * wastage per chicken {units : kg/chicken}
Now from wastage to tonnes
wastage in tonnes {units : tonne} = wastage in kg {units : kg} * tonne per kg {units : tonne/kg}
wastage in m3 {units : m3} = wastage in kg {units : kg} * cubic metres per kg {units : m3/kg}
Hope this helps. Make sure you get the units correct, they really are a vital part of any model.
Tony.
PS. Feel free to post the model here (click the "Upload attachment" link).
- Attachments
-
- Forum_unit conversion.mdl
- (2.58 KiB) Downloaded 1855 times
M Shamsuddoha
Curtin University, Australia
Curtin University, Australia
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4827
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: unit conversion
First, "eggs in" cannot be chicks*chicks/week (chicks squared per week). That makes no sense. It should be measured in eggs/week.
"Parent eggs" should be measured in "eggs".
You have the units for time to be "month" but I think you really need "week".
"eggs per gp" should be measured in "eggs/chick/week" (eggs per week per chick), not "Chicks/Eggs"
"Initial eggs" should be measured in "eggs".
See the attached model. I've changed none of your equations, just corrected the units so that they make sense (and now it passes the units check).
A few notes,
Remember that stocks are "usually" measured in "eggs", "chicks", "widgets" etc.
The rates that flow in/out should be "eggs/week", "chicks/week", "widgets/week" etc.
Converting should also make sense, so to convert from chicks to eggs, you need "eggs per chick per week".
Above all, the units need to make sense (so "chick*chick/week" would not be suitable).
Hope this helps.
"Parent eggs" should be measured in "eggs".
You have the units for time to be "month" but I think you really need "week".
"eggs per gp" should be measured in "eggs/chick/week" (eggs per week per chick), not "Chicks/Eggs"
"Initial eggs" should be measured in "eggs".
See the attached model. I've changed none of your equations, just corrected the units so that they make sense (and now it passes the units check).
A few notes,
Remember that stocks are "usually" measured in "eggs", "chicks", "widgets" etc.
The rates that flow in/out should be "eggs/week", "chicks/week", "widgets/week" etc.
Converting should also make sense, so to convert from chicks to eggs, you need "eggs per chick per week".
Above all, the units need to make sense (so "chick*chick/week" would not be suitable).
Hope this helps.
- Attachments
-
- Forum_unit conversion modified.mdl
- (2.55 KiB) Downloaded 1213 times
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: unit conversion
Thanks so much. Now I understand where was my problem? thanks again
A few notes,
Remember that stocks are "usually" measured in "eggs", "chicks", "widgets" etc.
The rates that flow in/out should be "eggs/week", "chicks/week", "widgets/week" etc.
Converting should also make sense, so to convert from chicks to eggs, you need "eggs per chick per week".
Above all, the units need to make sense (so "chick*chick/week" would not be suitable).
Hope this helps.[/quote]
A few notes,
Remember that stocks are "usually" measured in "eggs", "chicks", "widgets" etc.
The rates that flow in/out should be "eggs/week", "chicks/week", "widgets/week" etc.
Converting should also make sense, so to convert from chicks to eggs, you need "eggs per chick per week".
Above all, the units need to make sense (so "chick*chick/week" would not be suitable).
Hope this helps.[/quote]
M Shamsuddoha
Curtin University, Australia
Curtin University, Australia
Time step
Dear Tom
Hi!
Thanks for your last explanation of unit conversion. Now I have little confusion about timestep. Say, I need 21 days to hatch a egg that means if I use time step 1, it will require 3 time step, isn't it? You have sent me a model before where you put TIMESTEP between two Levels. My question is why did you put it? I tried to change the value from there and it is automatically change the whole setting; I mean time step will change for all variable. Could you please explain what others usage of time and time step as regards to put it in the model though it is in hidden information. One more little thing, if somehow I put time or timestep variable in the model, I can not delete it. how can I delete it?
thanks
Hi!
Thanks for your last explanation of unit conversion. Now I have little confusion about timestep. Say, I need 21 days to hatch a egg that means if I use time step 1, it will require 3 time step, isn't it? You have sent me a model before where you put TIMESTEP between two Levels. My question is why did you put it? I tried to change the value from there and it is automatically change the whole setting; I mean time step will change for all variable. Could you please explain what others usage of time and time step as regards to put it in the model though it is in hidden information. One more little thing, if somehow I put time or timestep variable in the model, I can not delete it. how can I delete it?
thanks
Administrator wrote:First, "eggs in" cannot be chicks*chicks/week (chicks squared per week). That makes no sense. It should be measured in eggs/week.
"Parent eggs" should be measured in "eggs".
You have the units for time to be "month" but I think you really need "week".
"eggs per gp" should be measured in "eggs/chick/week" (eggs per week per chick), not "Chicks/Eggs"
"Initial eggs" should be measured in "eggs".
See the attached model. I've changed none of your equations, just corrected the units so that they make sense (and now it passes the units check).
A few notes,
Remember that stocks are "usually" measured in "eggs", "chicks", "widgets" etc.
The rates that flow in/out should be "eggs/week", "chicks/week", "widgets/week" etc.
Converting should also make sense, so to convert from chicks to eggs, you need "eggs per chick per week".
Above all, the units need to make sense (so "chick*chick/week" would not be suitable).
Hope this helps.
M Shamsuddoha
Curtin University, Australia
Curtin University, Australia
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4827
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: unit conversion
It might be a good idea if you did the PLE tutorial at
http://www.public.asu.edu/~kirkwood/sysdyn/VenPLE.pdf
Page 13 mentions what time step is.
More information is also at
http://www.vensim.com/documentation/ind ... sdates.htm
Hope this helps.
Tony.
http://www.public.asu.edu/~kirkwood/sysdyn/VenPLE.pdf
Page 13 mentions what time step is.
More information is also at
http://www.vensim.com/documentation/ind ... sdates.htm
Hope this helps.
Tony.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: Time step
Thanks. I have gone through your documents which I have already read it but confusion is still same, why don't we use different time step in same model?
by the way, here I am sending revised model having problem with conversion. As par your guidance, I did solve some of my problems but when three different unit name meet in a point, how can I solve? Say, eggs converted chicks then immediately convert as chicken. so, three different things involve in one point. number of eggs minus number of chicks will be "Parent Eggs" level and number of chicks minus number of chicken will be broiler farms level. would you mind to see trhsi model again and provide required suggestion.
Regards
Doha
by the way, here I am sending revised model having problem with conversion. As par your guidance, I did solve some of my problems but when three different unit name meet in a point, how can I solve? Say, eggs converted chicks then immediately convert as chicken. so, three different things involve in one point. number of eggs minus number of chicks will be "Parent Eggs" level and number of chicks minus number of chicken will be broiler farms level. would you mind to see trhsi model again and provide required suggestion.
Regards
Doha
mdsdoha wrote:Dear Tom
Hi!
Thanks for your last explanation of unit conversion. Now I have little confusion about timestep. Say, I need 21 days to hatch a egg that means if I use time step 1, it will require 3 time step, isn't it? You have sent me a model before where you put TIMESTEP between two Levels. My question is why did you put it? I tried to change the value from there and it is automatically change the whole setting; I mean time step will change for all variable. Could you please explain what others usage of time and time step as regards to put it in the model though it is in hidden information. One more little thing, if somehow I put time or timestep variable in the model, I can not delete it. how can I delete it?
thanks
Administrator wrote:First, "eggs in" cannot be chicks*chicks/week (chicks squared per week). That makes no sense. It should be measured in eggs/week.
"Parent eggs" should be measured in "eggs".
You have the units for time to be "month" but I think you really need "week".
"eggs per gp" should be measured in "eggs/chick/week" (eggs per week per chick), not "Chicks/Eggs"
"Initial eggs" should be measured in "eggs".
See the attached model. I've changed none of your equations, just corrected the units so that they make sense (and now it passes the units check).
A few notes,
Remember that stocks are "usually" measured in "eggs", "chicks", "widgets" etc.
The rates that flow in/out should be "eggs/week", "chicks/week", "widgets/week" etc.
Converting should also make sense, so to convert from chicks to eggs, you need "eggs per chick per week".
Above all, the units need to make sense (so "chick*chick/week" would not be suitable).
Hope this helps.
- Attachments
-
- Forum_unit conversion.mdl
- (4.61 KiB) Downloaded 1268 times
M Shamsuddoha
Curtin University, Australia
Curtin University, Australia
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4827
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: unit conversion
ok, start with "FARM IN RATE". What is this, and what is it measured in?
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: unit conversion
Farm in rate measure how many chicks enter into ultimate broiler farmer as chicks and these chicks will grown up as chicken later.
Administrator wrote:ok, start with "FARM IN RATE". What is this, and what is it measured in?
M Shamsuddoha
Curtin University, Australia
Curtin University, Australia
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4827
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: unit conversion
I've attached a model that will hopefully help you a little.
- Attachments
-
- Chick model.mdl
- (9.4 KiB) Downloaded 1354 times
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: unit conversion
Thanks for your time to revised the model. I am really sorry to have so many question in my mind as a learner.
I have three question in my mind which I have asked in the attached model. These questions are related to "using rate variable instead of auxiliary", "capacity and target variable" and " level which used as last point of a model".
thanks for your continuous help to learn Vensim.
I have three question in my mind which I have asked in the attached model. These questions are related to "using rate variable instead of auxiliary", "capacity and target variable" and " level which used as last point of a model".
thanks for your continuous help to learn Vensim.
Administrator wrote:I've attached a model that will hopefully help you a little.
- Attachments
-
- Chick model v2.mdl
- (7.53 KiB) Downloaded 1343 times
M Shamsuddoha
Curtin University, Australia
Curtin University, Australia
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4827
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: unit conversion
I was trying to do this quickly.Qs: 1. why do not you use rate variable or bulb as you used auxiliary? Is there any particular reason behind it?
See http://www.vensim.com/documentation/ind ... ?mgu05.htmQ2. How can I add capacity and target variable? I want to set a target production which might hamper with existing capacity; at the same time capacity will be increase after certain time step. Can you please check and suggest what I have tried to do for target and capacity?
It is just a warning. If you want it to disappear, tick "supplementary" in the equation editor for it.Q3. If I click check model, it shows total revenie level did not use in this model. Is this error ignorable? We might need to put few end level which will not flow either way.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: unit conversion
Thanks and it will help me to understand few important things.
Administrator wrote:I was trying to do this quickly.Qs: 1. why do not you use rate variable or bulb as you used auxiliary? Is there any particular reason behind it?
See http://www.vensim.com/documentation/ind ... ?mgu05.htmQ2. How can I add capacity and target variable? I want to set a target production which might hamper with existing capacity; at the same time capacity will be increase after certain time step. Can you please check and suggest what I have tried to do for target and capacity?
It is just a warning. If you want it to disappear, tick "supplementary" in the equation editor for it.Q3. If I click check model, it shows total revenie level did not use in this model. Is this error ignorable? We might need to put few end level which will not flow either way.
M Shamsuddoha
Curtin University, Australia
Curtin University, Australia
Re: unit conversion
Hi!
I tried to do unit conversion in consecutive three level variable but failing to replicate this. I want to convert from Eggs to Chicks to Chicken to Money. All these changes will come one after. Could anybody help me to do so?
Say,
Eggs in- Eggs (level)- Chicks out - Chicks (Level) - Chicken out -Chicken (Level)- Money out
Please help!
I tried to do unit conversion in consecutive three level variable but failing to replicate this. I want to convert from Eggs to Chicks to Chicken to Money. All these changes will come one after. Could anybody help me to do so?
Say,
Eggs in- Eggs (level)- Chicks out - Chicks (Level) - Chicken out -Chicken (Level)- Money out
Please help!
M Shamsuddoha
Curtin University, Australia
Curtin University, Australia
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4827
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: unit conversion
To convert eggs to chick, create a variable which is called "chicks per egg"
chicks per egg = 1
Units : chick/egg
I'd assume you have a hatching rate maybe measured in eggs/day. Now multiply the number of hatching eggs by this.
hatching rate = <something>
Units : egg/day
New chick rate = hatching rate * chicks per egg
Units : chick/day
To convert chicks to chicken, do the same thing.
chicken per chick = 1
Units : chicken/chick
And to convert to money,
cash per chicken = 10
Units : dollar/chicken
chicks per egg = 1
Units : chick/egg
I'd assume you have a hatching rate maybe measured in eggs/day. Now multiply the number of hatching eggs by this.
hatching rate = <something>
Units : egg/day
New chick rate = hatching rate * chicks per egg
Units : chick/day
To convert chicks to chicken, do the same thing.
chicken per chick = 1
Units : chicken/chick
And to convert to money,
cash per chicken = 10
Units : dollar/chicken
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: unit conversion
Dear Sir
I have tried same way as you have written but did not work. I think, I found the reason but cannot solve it. Say, Egg is a level, input of eggs level is eggs/week, and output as Chicks/week because immediate level variable is Chicks. Then the same happen immediately output is chicken/week. please have a look of the below model if possible. Thanks
I have tried same way as you have written but did not work. I think, I found the reason but cannot solve it. Say, Egg is a level, input of eggs level is eggs/week, and output as Chicks/week because immediate level variable is Chicks. Then the same happen immediately output is chicken/week. please have a look of the below model if possible. Thanks
Administrator wrote:To convert eggs to chick, create a variable which is called "chicks per egg"
chicks per egg = 1
Units : chick/egg
I'd assume you have a hatching rate maybe measured in eggs/day. Now multiply the number of hatching eggs by this.
hatching rate = <something>
Units : egg/day
New chick rate = hatching rate * chicks per egg
Units : chick/day
To convert chicks to chicken, do the same thing.
chicken per chick = 1
Units : chicken/chick
And to convert to money,
cash per chicken = 10
Units : dollar/chicken
- Attachments
-
- Forum asking.mdl
- (8.28 KiB) Downloaded 1058 times
M Shamsuddoha
Curtin University, Australia
Curtin University, Australia
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4827
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: unit conversion
I've had a quick look and updated a few things. Take a look and see if you understand it ok.
- Attachments
-
- Forum asking.mdl
- (9.46 KiB) Downloaded 1086 times
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2023 10:31 am
- Vensim version: PLE
Re: unit conversion
Hi
I have a common question.
Can I convert to Imperial measurements? like here: https://oneconvert.com/unit-converters/ ... /kg-to-lbs
I have a common question.
Can I convert to Imperial measurements? like here: https://oneconvert.com/unit-converters/ ... /kg-to-lbs
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4827
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: unit conversion
Yes. Create an unchangeable constant called "kg per lb", give it the correct units (kg/lb) and value (0.453592). Then you can use it to convert any kg or lb measurements in your model.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559