How to display subscript control panel in JAVA UI?

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
Post Reply
centulire
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 8:49 am
Vensim version: DSS

How to display subscript control panel in JAVA UI?

Post by centulire »

Hello,

I am creating a user interface using Vensim DLL with Java coding. I would like to know what is the command that needs to be assigned to a button so as to display the pop-up window Subscript Control Panel.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4590
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: How to display subscript control panel in JAVA UI?

Post by Administrator »

Use

Code: Select all

vensim_command("SPECIAL>SUBSCRIPT|?")
That should display the dialog.

Tony.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
centulire
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 8:49 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: How to display subscript control panel in JAVA UI?

Post by centulire »

That works, thank you!
centulire
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 8:49 am
Vensim version: DSS

Command to have Vensim DLL read the selected subscript eleme

Post by centulire »

Hi,

I have another question on the use of subscripts in JAVA UI.

The command: vensim_command("SPECIAL>SUBSCRIPT|?") associated to a button actually displays the Subscript Control Panel. However, the model variables displayed in the UI do not change based on subscript selection.

Is there a specific command to have Vensim DLL read the subscript elements selected in the Control Panel?

Thanks a lot for your help!
Niccolò
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4590
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: How to display subscript control panel in JAVA UI?

Post by Administrator »

You will need to re-display the table/graph to get the updated set of subscripts.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
centulire
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 8:49 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: How to display subscript control panel in JAVA UI?

Post by centulire »

Thank you for your reply.

I had already tried to re-display the graphs, but nothing happens. Actually, the graphs do not display any subscript variable unless a subscript element is explicitly specified in the Java code. However, I would like to select the subscript element from the control panel, instead of specifying it in the Java code (since I don't want to create one dedicated graph for each subscript element and subelement).

Do I need to enter a specific command to have the UI read the selected subscript elements from its launch?

Thanks again.
tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 3811
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: How to display subscript control panel in JAVA UI?

Post by tomfid »

I think we need to know a little more about what graphs you're displaying, and how, to answer this.
Post Reply