lookup table
lookup table
hello
please help me
My lookup function f multiplies only one constant in growth rate the variable
please help me
My lookup function f multiplies only one constant in growth rate the variable
- Attachments
-
- look up.mdl
- (1.49 KiB) Downloaded 273 times
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4680
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: lookup table
Given the numbers in the lookup, I think you need
growth rate = f ( time )
Is time (or year) the x axis in your lookup?
growth rate = f ( time )
Is time (or year) the x axis in your lookup?
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: lookup table
Yes x-axis is time and y-axis is GDP growth rate
Re: lookup table
To suppress units warnings you can make the x-input Time/Unit Time (where Unit time = 1 with whatever time unit you need). Then:
GDP Growth Rate = GDP Growth Lookup( Time/Unit Year ) ~ fraction/year
GDP Growth Lookup ... {table}
Unit Year = 1 ~ year
GDP Growth Rate = GDP Growth Lookup( Time/Unit Year ) ~ fraction/year
GDP Growth Lookup ... {table}
Unit Year = 1 ~ year
/*
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics
*/
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics
*/
Re: lookup table
Hello
thanks for your help.
I modify growth rate = f ( time ) and I change units, but I still have a problem!
thanks for your help.
I modify growth rate = f ( time ) and I change units, but I still have a problem!
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4680
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: lookup table
Did you also change the time bounds of your model so it runs from 2016 onwards?
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: lookup table
Hi
A growth rate that dépends on time, looks Strange.
generally the growth rate dépends on the level, like a bank account with interests.
Regards.
JJ
A growth rate that dépends on time, looks Strange.
generally the growth rate dépends on the level, like a bank account with interests.
Regards.
JJ
Re: lookup table
excuse me, How should I do this?Administrator wrote:Did you also change the time bounds of your model so it runs from 2016 onwards?
Re: lookup table
JJ - I think it's a terminology issue. In my suggested equations, "growth rate" refers to the fractional rate of increase, in units of fraction/year, as distinct from the actual growth that occurs, in $/year/year. So, the full equations might be:
Code: Select all
GDP = INTEG( GDP Growth, Initial GDP ) ~ $/year
GDP Growth = GDP * GDP Growth Rate ~ $/year/year
GDP Growth Rate = GDP Growth Lookup( Time/Unit Year ) ~ fraction/year
GDP Growth Lookup ... {table}
Unit Year = 1 ~ year
/*
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics
*/
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics
*/
Re: lookup table
Thank you so much for your valuable guides.
Re: lookup table
Hi Tom
Your équations are mathematically correct (see model joined) but I was saying that a growth rate depending on time was economically not very realistic.
The growth rate is realistically more a constant like an interest rate , one of the run joined than growing linearly like the second run joined.
Regards.
JJ
Your équations are mathematically correct (see model joined) but I was saying that a growth rate depending on time was economically not very realistic.
The growth rate is realistically more a constant like an interest rate , one of the run joined than growing linearly like the second run joined.
Regards.
JJ
- Attachments
-
- look up2.vpm
- (31.26 KiB) Downloaded 257 times
Re: lookup table
Thank you for your all your help.
Re: lookup table
Indeed you are correct. A growth rate dependent on time might be convenient if you just want a GDP scenario as an input to a model of something else, but it isn't much if you're interested in modeling the economy itself.
/*
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics
*/
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics
*/
Re: lookup table
Making a variable time dependant, is like inputing this variable as an external data.
Re: lookup table
Despite all the changes and corrections, when I put the actual data about GDP growth along years in the lookup table, it seems that the output is still wrong.
GDP starts from zero point instead of 393.4 billion dollars!!
GDP starts from zero point instead of 393.4 billion dollars!!
- Attachments
-
- look up2.mdl
- (2.16 KiB) Downloaded 255 times
Re: lookup table
Hi
Here is the model corrected, with a unit correction (the model has strictest unit testing set on) and the initial GDP set outside the GDP equation (best practice).
the llokup now starts from year 1 (2017) to year 2 (2018.
The model is in published format (vpm) downloadable with any Vensim version with the run growth 4 included.
Use the table tool to observe the GDP and not the Graph one where the the GDP looks like starting from 0.
Regards.
JJ
Here is the model corrected, with a unit correction (the model has strictest unit testing set on) and the initial GDP set outside the GDP equation (best practice).
the llokup now starts from year 1 (2017) to year 2 (2018.
The model is in published format (vpm) downloadable with any Vensim version with the run growth 4 included.
Use the table tool to observe the GDP and not the Graph one where the the GDP looks like starting from 0.
Regards.
JJ
- Attachments
-
- look up4.vpm
- (22.43 KiB) Downloaded 259 times
Re: lookup table
Thank you so much.