FORECAST
FORECAST
Hi!
I have developed a model by giving the inputs of past 20 years. Now I want to predict the future by using FORECAST function. But when I am using FORECAST, the model starts predicting from the starting time instead of continuing from the Final Time step. Can you please help me in fixing this? The variables I am interested in forecasting are Levels/ Flows.
Thanks and Regards,
Sankeerthana.
I have developed a model by giving the inputs of past 20 years. Now I want to predict the future by using FORECAST function. But when I am using FORECAST, the model starts predicting from the starting time instead of continuing from the Final Time step. Can you please help me in fixing this? The variables I am interested in forecasting are Levels/ Flows.
Thanks and Regards,
Sankeerthana.
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4832
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: FORECAST
Can you upload the model to show us what you are doing?
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: FORECAST
Thanks for the response. I am herewith attaching the model. Can you please also elaborate the meaning of average time and Horizon used in FORECAST function? Is there any other function which can predict the future more effectively than FORECAST?
- Attachments
-
- 190519.mdl
- (20.33 KiB) Downloaded 757 times
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4832
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: FORECAST
The average time and horizon are explained in the help system,
http://www.vensim.com/documentation/ind ... recast.htm
Can you tell us which variable in your model is the one you are forecasting?
http://www.vensim.com/documentation/ind ... recast.htm
Can you tell us which variable in your model is the one you are forecasting?
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: FORECAST
I am trying to forecast "GW Storage", which is defines as a level. I am also interested in forecasting the other variables like Annual Yield, Annual Irrigation Cost per ha, etc.
Thank you!
Thank you!
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4832
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: FORECAST
I can see the forecast now. What is the problem with it, it looks to be calculating correctly. Do you want to use the actual value for GW storage until a certain time point (and then use the forecast)?
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: FORECAST
Yes! I want to use the actual value till certain time point and then predict the future.
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4832
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: FORECAST
You can use IF THEN ELSE,
value = IF THEN ELSE ( time < time point, GW storage , forecasted GW storage )
value = IF THEN ELSE ( time < time point, GW storage , forecasted GW storage )
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: FORECAST
Thank you for the response. If I want to forecast the model for future time, is it necessary to give all the inputs till the end of future time? For example in the above model attached variables like Rainfall Intensity, Canal Water Release Rate, Temperature were given as direct inputs and when I am trying to use IF THEN ELSE the model is showing a warning of "Simulating beyond range for Exogenous Variables. I have historical data of that variables but I don't have future data. How to solve this problem?
-
- Super Administrator
- Posts: 4832
- Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am
Re: FORECAST
There is lots you can do with external data. See the following page for details on some of the equations you can use such as HOLD BACKWARD, INTERPOLATE etc.
http://www.vensim.com/documentation/ind ... ations.htm
This might also be useful,
http://www.vensim.com/documentation/ind ... issing.htm
http://www.vensim.com/documentation/ind ... n_data.htm
http://www.vensim.com/documentation/ind ... ations.htm
This might also be useful,
http://www.vensim.com/documentation/ind ... issing.htm
http://www.vensim.com/documentation/ind ... n_data.htm
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Re: FORECAST
In cases like this, I typically do something like the following:
last x time = GET DATA LAST TIME( x )
last x = SAMPLE IF TRUE( time = last x time, x, x )
trend x = TREND( x, horizon, init trend )
last trend x = SAMPLE IF TRUE( time = last x time, x, x )
forecast x = last x*(1+last trend x*MAX(0,time-last x time))
/*
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics
*/
Advice to posters (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391
Blog: http://blog.metasd.com
Model library: http://models.metasd.com
Bookmarks: http://delicious.com/tomfid/SystemDynamics
*/