Reinstall Vensim (error 977).

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
Post Reply
aliakhavan89
Senior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:09 am
Vensim version: DSS

Reinstall Vensim (error 977).

Post by aliakhavan89 »

I get this error when I run my script to use Vensim DLL. I have attached the VRF file, and I would appreciate it if you could help me with this.
Attachments
Screenshot 2024-02-03 at 2.30.55 PM.png
Screenshot 2024-02-03 at 2.30.55 PM.png (13.72 KiB) Viewed 442 times
tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 3797
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: Reinstall Vensim (error 977).

Post by tomfid »

Typically this indicates a path problem. Have you moved the dll?
aliakhavan89
Senior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:09 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: Reinstall Vensim (error 977).

Post by aliakhavan89 »

The DLL folder and its content is in C:\Users\Public\Vensim\DLL and the vendll64.dll is in system32 folder. I've checked multiple times and I am sure I've installed the correct version of VenPy (the one pointing to vendll64.dll) and verified the installation.
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4537
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: Reinstall Vensim (error 977).

Post by Administrator »

Did you install Vensim using admin permissions, and using the user account you want to use Vensim with?

Please do not attach VRF files in the forum.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
aliakhavan89
Senior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:09 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: Reinstall Vensim (error 977).

Post by aliakhavan89 »

My account is not the system administrator on the PC, and I cannot access the admin permissions. But the admin installed Vensim, so I assume they used ‘Run as Administrator.’ I see my user account and the admin’s separately.

On my laptop (windows), I tried using the same account (with admin permission) to install and use the DLL, and it worked. So, is it the installation issue, or do I need admin permission to run the DLL, too? (not just for the installation)

PS 1. I posted the VRF based on the other threads and thought it was okay. It will not happen again, and thanks for removing it.

PS 2. I am unsure if it is relevant, but I saw the issue could be related to the OS language in the other threads. Everything has always been set to US English on my laptop, unlike the PC (which has German/Italian/English).
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4537
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: Reinstall Vensim (error 977).

Post by Administrator »

You need to ask your IT to install Vensim under your own account.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Post Reply