find zero

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
addor

find zero

Post by addor »

Once I asked about optimization simulation (Bellman or likewise) and you suggested to use the FIND ZERO function. After a break I'm studying this function now. I have no problem to solve equations in x saved in the variable z that is input to the variable x=FIND ZERO(...z...) which is again input to z. The function is estonishing efficient and fast.

But I have problems to implement the function into a greater and especially dynamic context. Let's assume we have a flow that is linear in time and leads to a stock that is a parabel with a extremum. I would like to know the time value of this extremum. So I have to find zero of the flow (see attachment)

I'm afraid that I confuse time development and equation approximation. But there are only a few examples. The both in the manual have too less compexity and the Fiddaman's one in the NEPHRON5 is on the other hand in a too large context to be understandable.

Can someone give me an example of how to find zero of an arbitrary flow?

Thanks,
Peter Addor
Peter Addor
LAUJJL
Vensim version: DSS

find zero

Post by LAUJJL »

Hi Addor

I cannot see any attachment in your post.
It would be a good idea to join a simple model to illustrate your difficulties!
Regards.
JJ
addor

my model

Post by addor »

Yes of course JJ, I tryied to attach a model. Here I retry it and hope it works now.

Two diopolists are trying to maximize their benefit. The price depends of the respective market shares and the benefit is "market share * price - market share * production costs".

If the benefit is smaler than the max benefit they will add a delta to their market share. So the max benefit would be calculated as a FIND ZERO of the flow "growth of the benefit". But I didn't make it...

Regards,
Peter
Attachments
Diopol.mdl
(5.26 KiB) Downloaded 390 times
Peter Addor
LAUJJL

Find zero

Post by LAUJJL »

Hi Peter

Can you put the units in your model.