Advanced SD textbooks

Use this forum to discuss any issues relating to Systems Dynamics and Systems Thinking.
Monte
Vensim version: PLE+

Advanced SD textbooks

Post by Monte »

Hello JJ,

Ten years ago my favorite SD author George Richardson wrote "we require advanced modeling texts..." (SDR 12(2): 145). He observed that we have merely introductory texts in the field.

Is that note still valid today? Do you know of some advanced texts published later in response to such a note? Can Business Dynamics be considered an advanced text?

I post this topic so that I can know which books (other than Coyle's) to buy next.

MK
LAUJJL
Vensim version: DSS

advanced Sd books

Post by LAUJJL »

Hi Monte

It is difficult to give an aswer about Business Dynamics.
I studied it completely 5 years ago, making with difficulty all the challenges.
Until then, I have now and then consulted the book, but I must say that it did not help me in my job.
Is it because my problems are more solvable with classic O.R. methods?
My opinion may be very peculiar.
I can only judge the book, I do not know John Sterman.
I think he is obviously a very learned man about SD and certainly other subjects too.
Now whether the reading of the book may or may not help you, is another thing.
One option is that Sterman has built many concrete models and has may be forgotten with the time, the difficulty to build usable models, and give with his book a sort of basic knowledge , but without showing how to concretely use it.
Or he may be, like many academics, very competent in academic SD, but with very little experience of concrete modelling (modelling for customers who wait for concrete results).
I think that the second has more chances to be correct, because if he was a very competent modeller, he would not have the time to teach and especially to write books (it takes a lot of work) and one does not learn about the concrete use of a discipline when teaching to students.