help with modeling

Use this forum to discuss any issues relating to Systems Dynamics and Systems Thinking.
siddus

help with modeling

Post by siddus »

Hello all,

I am new to the modeling process. I am trying to make a simplified system for leadership development. A part of the system depicts the relationship between monetary perks and employee morale.

I have modeled the perks as a stock with an inflow. The inflow simply adds a constant amount (in 100$ steps) to the stock. So say at time 0, the perks stock is 100. At time 1 the user increases the perks inflow to 100, consequently increasing the stock by 100 so that the new value is 200.

The morale is also modeled as a stock with a inflow which is controlled by the morale-perks function. For, this function I have created a graph that directly varies with the perks stock. So for example if the perks are 100 then the morale increases by 10. If the perks are 200 then the morale become 20 and so on.

However, I realized that if over 2 time periods the perks remain at a constant 100 then the morale should not be affected. However, currently the morale stock increases by 10 at each time interval.

How can I control the flow of the morale stock such that it increases only if there is a change in the perks amount?

Any help in this regards will be most appreciated.

Many thanks,
Sid.

[Edited on 11-29-2010 by siddus]
Administrator
Super Administrator

Post by Administrator »

Do you need morale modelled as a stock?

It sounds as if you already have a lookup that relates perks to morale (ie, perks = 100, morale = 10 and perks = 200, morale = 20), so just use that to calculate a morale level.
LAUJJL
Vensim version: DSS

Post by LAUJJL »

you must trace the variation of perks by storing at each time step, the previous perks in a level so as to conserve its value the next time step, and compare that level with the new perks. you have then to calculate the difference and calculate how the morale depends on it.
JJ
siddus