Multi-echelon structure

A place for Ventity software questions & answers
Lubo
Vensim version: PLE

Multi-echelon structure

Post by Lubo »

Hi

I have been working as a management consultant, applying Systems Thinking and System Dynamics and developing management flights simulators in tools such as Powersim, Vensim or Ithink for some time. I am new to Ventity and like the direction its development is taking.

As a learning experience to understand Ventity’s capabilities better I am trying to build a network of warehouses, distribution centres and shops. I think
I have built a simple working structure of entities with attributes – a basic pipework, which needs to be further developed with policies, rules and decisions to capture the network dynamics. Is my application of “entities with attributes” as opposed to “hidden array equations” correct?

I’m trying to add additional dimension and have multiple items flowing through this structure (multiple network nodes) where I currently only have a single “item”. For example adding Item 1, Item 2 and Item 3 flowing through the pipework. Or to make it more complex we could try to add a hierarchical (tree like) structure. For example having a “Group A” which includes Item 1 and Item 2 and “Group B” containing Item 3 and Item 4 – and all this items flowing through the model.

I am struggling a little with the concepts of attributes, entities, reference attributes and keys and keep on getting all kinds of errors in my attempts when I try to link entities with 2 keys (Stock and item).

What would be the most elegant and efficient way to build this structure?

Attached is the pipework model mentioned in the post. Looking forward to a fruitful discussion and ideas.

Lubo
Attachments
Levels 01.zip
(52.6 KiB) Downloaded 289 times
tomfid
Administrator

Re: Multi-echelon structure

Post by tomfid »

Here's a model that may inform your thinking:
SupplyChainNetwork5.zip
(24.4 KiB) Downloaded 314 times
tomfid
Administrator