CMD script macOS problem

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
Post Reply
Travis
Senior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:42 pm

CMD script macOS problem

Post by Travis »

I can't get a command script to work on macOS 14.4.1 with VensimDSS 10.1.2.

[code]
SPECIAL>NOINTERACTION
#SPECIAL>LOADMODEL|model.mdl
MENU>VDF2XLSX|BAU.vdfx|BAU.xlsx|SaveListForGraphs.lst
MENU>EXIT
[/code]

The command script, the MDL, LST, and VDFX are all in the same directory. I've made sure there aren't spaces and tried different locations on my disk. You can see I've tried with and without LOADMODEL (since I don't need to run a model -- just trying to automate data export).

I get no feedback. Vensim opens and nothing happens. No files are created in the folder with CMD script.

I'm calling it from Terminal (and my code editor app, but I've tried both) with

[code]
open -a /Applications/VensimDSS.app Export-XLS.cmd
[/code]

(NOTE: The path to VensimDSS on the Vensim documentation website (https://vensim.com/documentation/25670.html) needs to be updated since Vensim isn't installed in a Vensim folder any more.)
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4667
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: CMD script macOS problem

Post by Administrator »

What happens if you turn off
SPECIAL>NOINTERACTION
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4667
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: CMD script macOS problem

Post by Administrator »

This fires up the command script successfully for me (run from a terminal prompt)

/Applications/VensimDSS.app/Contents/MacOS/VensimDSS /Users/tony/Downloads/TravisForumProblem/SampleCMDScript.cmd
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Travis
Senior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:42 pm

Re: CMD script macOS problem

Post by Travis »

Ah, that is definitely a different way at calling the script. I shouldn't use the "open -a..." command from Terminal. Just call the Vensim binary directly with "/Applications/VensimDSS.app/Contents/MacOS/VensimDSS".

I got my first script to work now.

Please update the documentation to help the next person.
https://vensim.com/documentation/25670.html

Thanks for the help!
Travis
Senior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:42 pm

Re: CMD script macOS problem

Post by Travis »

Quick aside: Is there a way to comment a line in a CMD file? I tried # but that gave an error. I don't see any comments in the examples.
aliakhavan89
Senior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:09 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: CMD script macOS problem

Post by aliakhavan89 »

Also, if I remember it correctly, ''MENU>EXIT'' does not exist on macOS.
Travis
Senior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:42 pm

Re: CMD script macOS problem

Post by Travis »

Yeah, I'm not getting Vensim to quit/close at the end of my script, so I think MENU>EXIT is not working.
Todd
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2019 7:35 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: CMD script macOS problem

Post by Todd »

As of DSS version 10.2.0 today, MENU>EXIT is working for me on Mac.
tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 3856
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: CMD script macOS problem

Post by tomfid »

Exclamation point works for comments.
aliakhavan89
Senior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:09 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: CMD script macOS problem

Post by aliakhavan89 »

After updating to DSS 10.2.1, I cannot run the same cmd I've been using for the past few weeks on macOS. It feels that it gets stuck in a loop, and 'cancel' doesn't work (the OS doesn't say Vensim isn't responding). I have to force quit Vensim. I checked again, and the script works fine on DSS 10.2.0 on Windows (and it worked on 10.2.0 on macOS too).
Attachments
Screenshot 2024-07-25 at 8.15.11 PM.png
Screenshot 2024-07-25 at 8.15.11 PM.png (112.62 KiB) Viewed 5560 times
aliakhavan89
Senior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:09 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: CMD script macOS problem

Post by aliakhavan89 »

I couldn't figure out a way to make it 100% replicable, but I have a hunch that this issue happens when there are a lot of datasets in the folder (which is what I had in my original model).

A similar error was happening when working with my original model, and I thought there might be something wrong with the variable names. But it's now isolated. It gets stuck here and won't move forward. Vensim doesn't crash either. 'Cancel' doesn't work.
Screenshot 2024-07-25 at 8.39.40 PM.png
Screenshot 2024-07-25 at 8.39.40 PM.png (81.15 KiB) Viewed 5559 times
Attachments
Test Model.zip
(90.94 KiB) Downloaded 164 times
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4667
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: CMD script macOS problem

Post by Administrator »

Can you let us know exactly how you run the script? Do you start it via a terminal command or edit the CMD script and hit the run button?
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
aliakhavan89
Senior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:09 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: CMD script macOS problem

Post by aliakhavan89 »

edit the CMD script and hit the run button
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4667
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: CMD script macOS problem

Post by Administrator »

I'm rebuilding now, and will hopefully get an update to you today.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
aliakhavan89
Senior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:09 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: CMD script macOS problem

Post by aliakhavan89 »

Thank you!
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4667
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: CMD script macOS problem

Post by Administrator »

I've updated the DSS Mac installer, it should fix this issue.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Post Reply