QUEUE FIFO with items going on hold

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
sarah.livermore
Vensim version: DSS

QUEUE FIFO with items going on hold

Post by sarah.livermore »

Hi there,
it's my first time on here - I'll try to post all the information needed. Please let me know if I have missed anything.

I'm modelling a system where items are processed on a FIFO basis. We also need to plot the distributions of the items' ages in the queue. Hence the QUEUE FIFO function seems ideal. There are 3 categories of items hence we have an "Item Category" subscript. I've attached a simple version of a program which models this.

In reality, items can be taken out of the processing system and put "on hold". They are injected back into the processing system at a later date. They may subsequently be put on hold again. For the moment, I assign the time that the items go on hold as being 30 days.

I'm having great difficulty modelling this "on hold" process. I've attempted to have a DELAY CONVEYOR function which would look something like:
Items on hold = DELAY CONVEYOR(Items In Hand,30days,0,initialProfile,Initial items in hand,30days)
where initialProfile would be some sort of flat age distribution (definining this is the least of my worries!)

However, I'm getting into a real muddle trying to ensure that the items returning from being on hold will go back into the processing system at the correct time and that their ages will be accurately modelled. I have set up an "Item Age" subscript in preparation for this (see at the end of this message), but I am not sure how to apply it properly.

I would be extremely grateful for any tips about how to go about this or even more fundamental advice about whether I am using the right approach to model this. I am using Vensim DSS32 Version 5.0a - version determined by system administrators and beyond my control.

Thanks
Sarah

Item Age:
d0,d5,d10,d15,d20,d25,d30,d35,d40,d45plus
~ Dmnl