BUG: Mac Vensim 8 output windows have black text in dark mode

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
Post Reply
Todd
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2019 7:35 am
Vensim version: DSS

BUG: Mac Vensim 8 output windows have black text in dark mode

Post by Todd » Tue Aug 20, 2019 7:46 am

1. Run Vensim 8 on macOS 10.14 in dark mode. Vensim runs in dark mode.
2. Show an output window that contains text such as Table.
3. The window has black text on a dark gray background.

Black on dark gray is hard to read. White on dark gray would be more readable.

Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 3423
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: BUG: Mac Vensim 8 output windows have black text in dark mode

Post by Administrator » Tue Aug 20, 2019 8:31 am

Thanks, this should be straightforward to implement as we already change some of the icons when in dark mode.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559

Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 3423
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: BUG: Mac Vensim 8 output windows have black text in dark mode

Post by Administrator » Tue Aug 20, 2019 4:38 pm

I think the way forward for dark mode is to have two different initialisation files, one for normal and one for dark.

You can change the output font for the table/graph/stats etc. But what one person likes does not always match with what others want.

I'll look into having two initialisation files, that would get around the issue.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559

Todd
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2019 7:35 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: BUG: Mac Vensim 8 output windows have black text in dark mode

Post by Todd » Wed Aug 21, 2019 5:24 am

I see now that the font selection in Global Option Settings includes color. That solves the immediate problem. I agree that there need to be separate initialization files for light and dark mode with reasonable color choices.

Another option that I see in many other apps is the ability to override the system dark mode setting for this app. That would be useful for what may be a common case in which someone runs their Mac in dark mode, but prefers light mode for Vensim.

tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 2813
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: BUG: Mac Vensim 8 output windows have black text in dark mode

Post by tomfid » Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:07 pm

I'd favor the latter approach, because PLE is used so much for teaching. Having radically different appearances on different platforms is problematic.

jalvarez
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:52 pm
Vensim version: PLE

Re: BUG: Mac Vensim 8 output windows have black text in dark mode

Post by jalvarez » Wed Aug 28, 2019 11:00 pm

Hello all,

The Loops tool has a font that isn't changed by any of the font controls in global options.

Best,

Jaime

aalto-comnet
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 9:20 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: BUG: Mac Vensim 8 output windows have black text in dark mode

Post by aalto-comnet » Mon Nov 18, 2019 12:59 pm

Hello all,

Any update for that? I am using Vensim DSS 8.0.2 on a Mac and also facing the same problem.

Thanks.

Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 3423
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: BUG: Mac Vensim 8 output windows have black text in dark mode

Post by Administrator » Mon Nov 18, 2019 1:01 pm

No, there have been no updates to dark mode functionality.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559

aalto-comnet
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 9:20 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: BUG: Mac Vensim 8 output windows have black text in dark mode

Post by aalto-comnet » Mon Nov 18, 2019 1:12 pm

I believe that should be a priority then.

As another member mentions above, Vensim is used heavily for teaching / educational purposes, in our case too, and this bug is not facilitating our effort.

Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 3423
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: BUG: Mac Vensim 8 output windows have black text in dark mode

Post by Administrator » Mon Nov 18, 2019 1:31 pm

If a user wants a separate initialization file for when they use dark mode, that's easy enough to achieve. If the user browses to their home folder, they will find a hidden file called .vensim (or .vensimdp or .venple depending on the version). Create a copy of this file and then adjust the colours/fonts to suit dark mode. If the user want's default functionality, use the old .vensim file, if dark mode, use the one that has been modified.

This is all we can suggest at the moment. The release of Catalina is producing a lot of support requests, when this has settled down we can take a proper look at how Apple have implemented dark mode.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559

aliakhavan89
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:09 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: BUG: Mac Vensim 8 output windows have black text in dark mode

Post by aliakhavan89 » Thu Dec 12, 2019 10:38 am

I think the problem is with the design of the font color palette. In most applications such as MS Word, there is this "Automatic" color option that makes the color of the font responsive to the background, meaning that in light themes they use dark colors and the other way around.

https://imgur.com/a/Bj7CrTe

https://imgur.com/wUXwmuH

https://imgur.com/0ZdJE1q

There are bunch of codes that provide this option for CSS in HTML environment to have this automatic color switch. I guess the implementation would not be so hard for C or similar languages.

This logic can be even applied to other color palettes used for arrows and flows. Having this will resolve the issue of having two initialization or even overriding the theme, although having the overriding feature would be necessary in general.

Thanks!

Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 3423
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: BUG: Mac Vensim 8 output windows have black text in dark mode

Post by Administrator » Thu Dec 12, 2019 10:45 am

aliakhavan89 wrote:
Thu Dec 12, 2019 10:38 am
There are bunch of codes that provide this option for CSS in HTML environment to have this automatic color switch. I guess the implementation would not be so hard for C or similar languages.
We have to have something that works on both Windows and Mac which is why the colour pallette is basic.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559

aliakhavan89
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:09 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: BUG: Mac Vensim 8 output windows have black text in dark mode

Post by aliakhavan89 » Thu Dec 12, 2019 11:50 am

Thanks! But, the idea that Microsoft is implementing works both on Mac and Windows. I may have missed something.

Post Reply