Publish model in VPM format from Vensim 8.04

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
Post Reply
Phill
Senior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 2:18 pm
Vensim version: DSS

Publish model in VPM format from Vensim 8.04

Post by Phill » Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:41 pm

Hello,
I am running Vensim DSS 8.04 and models are published in VPMX format. A colleague with an older copy of Vensim cannot open these files. IS it possible to publish models in VPM format from Vensim 8.94? I can't see an option to do that and editing the file suffix doesn't work.

Phill

Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: Publish model in VPM format from Vensim 8.04

Post by Administrator » Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:42 pm

No, the latest version of Vensim cannot publish the older format files.

You could give them the MDL, the older version should be able to read that.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559

Phill
Senior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 2:18 pm
Vensim version: DSS

Re: Publish model in VPM format from Vensim 8.04

Post by Phill » Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:44 pm

Wow, that was quick! Thanks. I'll tell them they need to upgrade.

Phill

Phill
Senior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 2:18 pm
Vensim version: DSS

Re: Publish model in VPM format from Vensim 8.04

Post by Phill » Thu Oct 24, 2019 3:07 pm

Another question. Has the Vensim DLL changed too? I created an MDL in Vensim 8.04 and then we published that model as a VPM file in Vensim 7. We are trying to run it on our Unix server using the Vensim DLL, but the variable values are not changing as we run through the time steps. When we were only using Vensim 7, all this ran very well, so I'm not sure where the problem is, unless it's to do with the upgrade.

Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: Publish model in VPM format from Vensim 8.04

Post by Administrator » Thu Oct 24, 2019 4:21 pm

Can you email us direct and we'll take a look.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559

tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 2772
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: Publish model in VPM format from Vensim 8.04

Post by tomfid » Mon Oct 28, 2019 10:50 pm

If the model was moved to Vensim v7 in mdl format, published in v7, and run with the v7 dll, then it's hard to see how the v8 changes could be involved. Maybe a change in the scripting or data?

Phill
Senior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 2:18 pm
Vensim version: DSS

Re: Publish model in VPM format from Vensim 8.04

Post by Phill » Tue Oct 29, 2019 12:09 pm

I created the model in Vensim 8.04, then we found the published VPM file wouldn't run under the V7 DLL. So I loaded the MDL file from v8.04 into Vensim 7, published the VPM file from there and now it runs under the DLL on the server, without any problems.

tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 2772
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: Publish model in VPM format from Vensim 8.04

Post by tomfid » Tue Oct 29, 2019 2:26 pm

Ah ... the v8 publication will contain a vmfx, which won't run in v7. We can rebuild the MC library for the new format if needed.

Phill
Senior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 2:18 pm
Vensim version: DSS

Re: Publish model in VPM format from Vensim 8.04

Post by Phill » Wed Oct 30, 2019 7:10 am

It's a minor step to load a finished MDL to the older version of Vensim to publish the model as VPM instead of VPMX, so long as no 'backwards compatability' issues crop up. But we'd love to run both Vensim and Ventity models on a Unix server, so if ever you have the time to build Unix libraries for the latest versions of both.....! ;-)

Post Reply