Rework Cycle Assignment problem

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
John Wayne
Vensim version: PLE

Rework Cycle Assignment problem

Post by John Wayne »

Hello Vensim Fanatics.
I am a student working on system dynamics looking for advice on a project.
I am replicating the task of an mit course which I will provide the link to https://ocw.mit.edu/courses/sloan-schoo ... 3_ass4.pdf and im currently on the first section A. I have replicated the model but unfortunately unable to find my models outputs believable. I have consulted websites such as this one http://systems-sciences.uni-graz.at/ete ... /work.html for advice on the equations and I believe my error/mistake in modelling occurs at the Work to do and maximum work rate variables. This is because the task states that the maximum work rate is 1 task per month and yet I have a potential work rate of 400 tasks per month. Please let me know how to solve this or whether there are existing models to gain inspiration from. Thank you!
tomfid
Administrator

Re: Rework Cycle Assignment problem

Post by tomfid »

I think we'd have to see your model to make a diagnosis (you can attach an mdl file).
John Wayne

Post by John Wayne »

Here it is
Attachments
Rework Cycle Part A .mdl
(5.41 KiB) Downloaded 130 times
tomfid
Administrator

Post by tomfid »

OK - I think your diagnosis is correct - the potential work rate is too high. Since this is a course, I'll offer just a hint first.

Your equation is:

Potential work rate=
Maximum work rate*Productivity*Staff Level
Units: Tasks/Month