newbe and wine64

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
syseng
Vensim version: PLE

newbe and wine64

Post by syseng »

I am taking my first class from Systems Dynamic and I use vensinDSS that I have a limited time. My background is both SW & HW engineering and UI design. The archtypes are cool, but is learning the terminology then relating that to what I know.

I can not use Windows! Thank writing standard software! It runs in Wine64.
Good news first. Because I am running in wine64 I expect it is not supported. Do I hear market opportunity?

Problem 1. Because I am using wine64, I do not have the "standard" applications. As a standalone Vensim runs OK.
I installed postgres obdc drivers in to w64. and now I get an error on the Linux side. On the Linux side I can handle.

Documentation on the ODBC connection is limited at best.
Right now it is chicken and egg problem. I have to define the DSN before I can create new DSN.

Question 1: How do I setup a DSN database connection information in vensim?

Problem 2: When I use GET DIRECT DATA I get a hard crash.
I can send dump if you want it.

Problem 3: This is the first time I have used wine64. You can't help me here. Wine resources are fair.
Administrator
Super Administrator

Re: newbe and wine64

Post by Administrator »

Please update your profile with your correct licence details (you've registered as a PLE user).

>> Good news first. Because I am running in wine64 I expect it is not supported.
Correct, running Vensim on anything other than Windows/MacOS is not supported.

>> Question 1: How do I setup a DSN database connection information in vensim?
>> Problem 2: When I use GET DIRECT DATA I get a hard crash.
Neither of these is available in PLE.
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
tomfid
Administrator

Post by tomfid »