Help with simple component state modeling

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
Nub_User
Vensim version: PLE+

Help with simple component state modeling

Post by Nub_User »

Hi colleagues,

I am new to using Vensim, and I am writing to ask for your help with my simple model's equations.

Component modeling is simple: it requires a component to vary between two states 1 (available) and 0 (failed). These states are given by the likelihood of being recovered and by the likelihood of failure. I'm even fine, I could raise the equations with IF THEN ELSE and RANDOM UNIFORM equations, and the model works fine with the component going in and out of service.

The problem I have is that I cannot correctly implement the following additional characteristic that the proposal has. Once the component have failed (state = 0), the time for the recovery action requires 7 units of time to be able to be returned to available (state = 1).

I tried using the DELAY and SMOOTH functions. Still, the simulation always changes state without incorporating the effect of the time needed to recover (7 time units) effectively. I am attaching the model file to ask you for help to solve this problem that may be simple but that I cannot solve.
component_states.mdl
(2.32 KiB) Downloaded 130 times

Thank you very much in advance for explaining me how to solve it and for your help.
tomfid
Administrator

Re: Help with simple component state modeling

Post by tomfid »

Try this:

Code: Select all

Fail=
        IF THEN ELSE(State=1 :AND:Failure likelihood<=2,1,0)/TIME STEP
    Units: 1/Hour

Failure likelihood=
    RANDOM UNIFORM(0, 100 , 1235 )
Units: dmnl

Recover= DELAY FIXED (
    Fail,Recovery time,0)
Units: 1/Hour

Recovery time=
Units: Hour

State= INTEG (
    Recover-Fail,
        1)
Units: dmnl

Nub_User

Post by Nub_User »

Dear @tomfid