how to limit the number of simulation when optimizing

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
Post Reply
LAUJJL
Senior Member
Posts: 1427
Joined: Fri May 23, 2003 10:09 am
Vensim version: DSS

how to limit the number of simulation when optimizing

Post by LAUJJL »

Hi

I would like to limit the number of simulation say to 10 when optimizing. How to do it?

I join the .voc file that I use. it generally stops the simulation after appoximately 20 simulations. Generally it congerges enough already at 1O. Making multiple optimizations controlled by VBA
I need tio reduce the optimization time.

Best regards.

JJ
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4590
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: how to limit the number of simulation when optimizing

Post by Administrator »

Can you upload the VOC file?
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
LAUJJL
Senior Member
Posts: 1427
Joined: Fri May 23, 2003 10:09 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: how to limit the number of simulation when optimizing

Post by LAUJJL »

Sorry I forgot to upload the file.

I upload the file with a mdl extension because the voc is not allowed.

Regards.

JJ
Attachments
rentndrop.mdl
(349 Bytes) Downloaded 275 times
gwr
Senior Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:40 pm
Vensim version: DSS

Re: how to limit the number of simulation when optimizing

Post by gwr »

I upload the file with a mdl extension because the voc is not allowed.
That is a bit unfortunate admittedly but I found you can always upload a zip-archive which might also be a good idea in itself?

Regards,
Guido
gwr
Senior Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:40 pm
Vensim version: DSS

Re: how to limit the number of simulation when optimizing

Post by gwr »

Hi JJ,

I see that you are using the optimization control option

Code: Select all

:SIMS_MAX = 10
I fail to locate this in the reference manual - would you have a link here?

Regards,
Guido
LAUJJL
Senior Member
Posts: 1427
Joined: Fri May 23, 2003 10:09 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: how to limit the number of simulation when optimizing

Post by LAUJJL »

Hi Guido

I found easier to change the extension to mdl than zipping the file.

About the max_sims, I did not find either a reference in the Vensim manuals.

Regards.

JJ
tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 3811
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: how to limit the number of simulation when optimizing

Post by tomfid »

I'll have to take a look at the code - I suspect that the limit only gets checked between passes, not at every single iteration, in order to avoid a lot of if-then testing when normally not needed.
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4590
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: how to limit the number of simulation when optimizing

Post by Administrator »

LAUJJL wrote:I found easier to change the extension to mdl than zipping the file.
I've changed the forum to allow this now.
About the max_sims, I did not find either a reference in the Vensim manuals.
Does it stop ok if you make MAX SIMS 20?
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 3811
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: how to limit the number of simulation when optimizing

Post by tomfid »

There's a funny (weird, not ha ha) quirk in the code, in that max sim values <= 10 are ignored. So, if you set it to 11, it should work. You could also try lowering the PASS LIMIT to 1.
LAUJJL
Senior Member
Posts: 1427
Joined: Fri May 23, 2003 10:09 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: how to limit the number of simulation when optimizing

Post by LAUJJL »

Hi Tom

Thank you for the information about the max_sims. I will experiment if that works.

Regards.

JJ
tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 3811
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: how to limit the number of simulation when optimizing

Post by tomfid »

I changed the lower limit, so that any nonzero value of SIMS_MAX is recognized. Version 6.3a (soon) will incorporate that.
Post Reply