Use of time zone in Vensim

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
Post Reply
taskia
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:20 am
Vensim version: PRO

Use of time zone in Vensim

Post by taskia »

Hi,
I am developing a System Dynamics model for distributed software projects development in Vensim. in this case, to maintain the timezone is very necessary, but I could not add the timezone.
So, is it possible to use the timezone in Vensim? If yes, then how can I add the time zone?
Thank you in advance.
tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 3077
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: Use of time zone in Vensim

Post by tomfid »

What do you want to do with the time zone? How about using an integer from 1 to 24?
taskia
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:20 am
Vensim version: PRO

Re: Use of time zone in Vensim

Post by taskia »

Thank you for your reply. Actually, I want to set a suitable time for coordination meeting among the team members from different countries in my model, that's why I am thinking to use the timezone so that I can find a time suitable for all members, but I could not use.
tomfid
Administrator
Posts: 3077
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:54 am

Re: Use of time zone in Vensim

Post by tomfid »

Seems like more of a discrete event simulation problem.

You could assign each team member an integer time zone number, and search for viable times that are within a certain window overlap from the zone number, modulo 24.

It's hard to say more without knowing more about the problem statement.
taskia
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:20 am
Vensim version: PRO

Re: Use of time zone in Vensim

Post by taskia »

Thank you very much for your suggestion. I will try in this way.
Post Reply