Replacing Tabbed Arrays to avoid "hard-coding"

Use this forum to post Vensim related questions.
Post Reply
Ashish_Kumar
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2021 9:31 am
Vensim version: DSS

Replacing Tabbed Arrays to avoid "hard-coding"

Post by Ashish_Kumar »

I have a working model which uses Tabbed Arrays. I've pasted an example below. I would like to revise the model to read data from an Excel file instead. The variable being defined does not vary with time; it depends on two subscript variables, "Age" and "Gender".

I tried using GET XLS LOOKUP and got an error. Before spending more time on this, I would like to ask: what is the simplest way to achieve my aim? I want to avoid having the numbers hard-coded into the model, to make them easier to change.


age specific mortality rate[Female, Age]=TABBED ARRAY(
0.00201 0.00201 0.00014 0.00014 0.00013 0.00012 0.00011 0.00011 0.0001 0.0001
9e-05 9e-05 9e-05 9e-05 0.0001 0.00011 0.00012 0.00013 0.00014 0.00016 0.00017
0.00019 0.0002 0.00021 0.00021 0.00021 0.0002 0.0002 0.0002 0.00022 0.00023
0.00025 0.00027 0.00029 0.00031 0.00034 0.00038 0.00041 0.00045 0.00049 0.00055
0.0006 0.00066 0.00073 0.00082 0.00092 0.00103 0.00114 0.00126 0.00141 0.00157
0.00173 0.0019 0.00208 0.00228 0.00249 0.00271 0.00294 0.00321 0.00354 0.00391
0.00428 0.00469 0.00521 0.00591 0.00672 0.00757 0.00844 0.00939 0.01047 0.0116
0.01274 0.01399 0.01559 0.01773 0.02019 0.02273 0.02536 0.02835 0.03188 0.03571
0.03958 0.04358 0.04822 0.05406 0.06105 0.06837 0.07641 0.08522 0.09487 0.1054
0.11685 0.12928 0.14273 0.15723 0.17283 0.18956 0.20744 0.22648 0.24669 0.26809
1
)
Administrator
Super Administrator
Posts: 4590
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:10 am

Re: Replacing Tabbed Arrays to avoid "hard-coding"

Post by Administrator »

GET XLS CONSTANTS should do what you want.

https://www.vensim.com/documentation/fn ... +constants
Advice to posters seeking help (it really helps us to help you)
http://www.ventanasystems.co.uk/forum/v ... f=2&t=4391

Units are important!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-27509559
Ashish_Kumar
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2021 9:31 am
Vensim version: DSS

Re: Replacing Tabbed Arrays to avoid "hard-coding"

Post by Ashish_Kumar »

Thank you. That works fine.
Post Reply