Explaining System Dynamics to others

Use this forum to discuss any issues relating to Systems Dynamics and Systems Thinking.
malli

Explaining System Dynamics to others

Post by malli »

Hi,

I am relatively new to system dynamics. Just a little bit of background. I am based out of India and primarily worked for around 10 years in media planning and market research.

Around 3 years, back, the motherhood question on advertising started troubling me - does it work? how to measure ROI?..etc

And I started doing market mix modeling in my company - where we were essentially using the methods of econometrics to explain the effects of various elements of the marketing mix on sales.

I am nowhere close to being an expert on econometrics but I must confess that I did not feel in sync with some of the answers it threw up in our modeling exercises. Additionally, the need for high quality time series data was always a limitation - data collection methods in India are still largely manual, and hence both the number and quality of data points are limited. And, atleast amongst the econometric modelers I worked with, there was a tendency to 'terrorize' the client with terms like canonical correlation, heteroskedasticity etc!!

More fundamentally, I guess, I was not fully comfortable with the world view of this kind of modeling - from whatever extent I knew about it.

By sheer luck, through a friend, I found out about System Dynamics, and am really liking it! Have been reading Sterman's book for the last 9 months. And also enrolled for the online graduate certificate program at WPI. ...and hopefully work towards the online masters program too.